Skip to content

Inheritance

January 17, 2011

For the past month or so I’ve been slugging through Ezekiel. I’m doing a chronological reading plan that’s supposed to take you through the Bible in a year, although my version is a two-year plan.

Ezekiel is a hard book to keep my head in. My eyes can tend to glaze over. But the other day I came to a passage that discussed the Levitical priests inheritance:

“This shall be their inheritance: I am their inheritance: and you shall give them no possession in Israel; I am their possession.” 44:28

The Lord was the Levitical priests’ inheritance. They did not receive an inheritance of land, like the other tribes of Israel. Their inheritance and possession was the Lord himself.

As I read this tiny verse tucked in Ezekiel, I couldn’t help but wonder if I’m satisfied with possessing “only” the Lord. It everything else was stripped away, like Job, would possessing Him be enough? Or do I demand a larger inheritance? A more material one? Am I content with the presence of the Lord as my blessing or do I long for an inheritance that includes an easy life, a nice home, good health, obedient kids, a loving husband?

Nothing is wrong with these desires at all. But, if I turn them into rights, an inheritance I deserve, I’ll be come bitter if I don’t have them. God never promised the American dream. He only promised himself.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2011 10:01 pm

    So good! How tempting it is to think of those desires as “rights.” It reminds me of a line from a song: “If we got what we deserved, we’d be in hell tonight.” Yet it’s so easy for me to think that I somehow have a right to comfort, pleasure, love, ease, etc.

  2. January 18, 2011 9:48 am

    Very convicting!! Thank you…just what I needed. : )

  3. January 18, 2011 10:05 am

    and He is enough.
    I have heard something like, ‘When God is all that you have, He becomes all that you want.”
    That’s likely not quite right, but I think captures the heart of the matter.

  4. January 18, 2011 11:11 am

    Great thoughts Danielle. Such nuggets to be brought out from that verse. I have definitely wrestled over similar thoughts (still am). Thank you for the challenge.

  5. January 22, 2011 8:35 pm

    This same thing struck me when reading through Numbers and Deuteronomy as the promised land was divided among the tribes.

Leave a Reply

