Skip to content

A Thing with Feathers

January 6, 2011

I used to read a lot of poetry. Both for pleasure and, being an English major in college, I studied poetry in multiple courses. Emily Dickinson has always been one of my favorite poets since I was a little girl.

_______

I’d been looking at Lisa Leonard’s jewelry for a while. I thought I wanted the “Be Still” necklace. Then I saw the new “Hope is the Thing” necklace and knew that was the one. I couldn’t resist wearing a verse from one of my favorite poems written by one of my favorite poets around my neck.

So guess what I got for Christmas . . .

I love wearing it almost everyday! (Wishing I had a macro lens for this shot.)

Hope

Hope is the thing with feathers
That perches in the soul,
And sings the tune–without the words,
And never stops at all,

And sweetest in the gale is heard;
And sore must be the storm
That could abash the little bird
That kept so many warm.

I’ve heard it in the chillest land,
And on the strangest sea;
Yet, never, in extremity,
It asked a crumb of me.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2011 1:28 pm

    I’ve always loved that poem — it’s one of her more upbeat, positive ones!

    Beautiful necklace…honestly, I am coveting it!

  2. January 6, 2011 1:51 pm

    LOVE it!

  3. Sharon O permalink
    January 6, 2011 1:53 pm

    beautiful…

  4. January 6, 2011 2:50 pm

    Oh how fun! I love that, and the story behind it too! I love E. Dickinson – and that poem holds a special memory for me. Glad you’re enjoying it!

  5. January 6, 2011 4:32 pm

    Beautiful!!!! I’m off to shop there now! 🙂

    Blessings,
    Melanie

  6. January 7, 2011 12:30 am

    What a beautiful poem, and a lovely necklace! I was eyeing the (In)Courage on from her, the By Grace Alone one…and had just made up my mind to ask my husband for it for Christmas. Then I entered a blog giveaway and won it!! I was so excited. I too wear mine all the time. Now I want to get that necklace. Haha!

  7. bethyoung permalink
    January 7, 2011 2:26 pm

    This is really pretty, Danielle! I finally got something from Lisa Leonard, too for Christmas. I have the tiny little initials of my children with a small pearl. I love it.

Leave a Reply

