Skip to content

The Contentment of Gratitude | Multitude Monday

October 18, 2010

Gratitude is learning to recognize and express appreciation for the benefits we have received from God and from others. -Nancy Leigh DeMoss

They’re filling my mailbox. Glossy catalogs filled with items I suddenly find myself unable to live without. I eye cozy sweaters and sleek leather boots. Pottery Barn shows off pages of plump pillows and lit candles that would look nice in my house. The cover of the latest catalog ironically proclaims: “Give thanks!” I feel like I could give thanks better if my house looked as nice as those on the pages between Pottery Barn’s cover.

Materialism rears its ugly head periodically in my life. The change of seasons is a time when I’m particularly susceptible to wanting new clothes or to spruce up the house with seasonal decor. Nothing is wrong with that per se, except when I find myself obsessed with it or unsatisfied until I get whatever it is I want. Despite the fact that I’m more wealthy than most of the people in the world, I can easily find myself wanting more or being discontent with my worn out and sagging-in-the-middle sofa or unfinished floors.

Good thing it’s Monday and time to remind myself of my blessings from the past week . . .

30. Duncan wanting to give me early morning hugs: “I hug you!”

31. Sophia’s coos and social smiles that she’s started doing over the past week or so.

32. My mom coming to spend the afternoon and help me make applesauce, apple cake, and cook up pumpkin to freeze.

33. A Saturday morning out shopping with just Sophia

34. Homemade pizza and friends over to share it.

35. Toffee Mochas at Starbucks.

36. A variety of upcoming photography sessions.

37. A new passage of scripture to memorize.

38. Sophia sleeping through the night most nights.

39. The “peace of Christ” which can rule my heart when I let it.

40. A quiet sunny Sunday afternoon.

I have much to be content about!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Sharon O permalink
    October 18, 2010 8:40 am

    Awesome reminder of the Blessings surrounding us even when we don’t look for them.

  2. October 18, 2010 2:30 pm

    Yeah, I find that Pottery Barn cover rather ironic. πŸ™‚

  3. October 18, 2010 2:37 pm

    Hey, I WILL say- great post btw :)- that the Pottery Barn, sent in October, full-out Thanksgiving with a peak of Christmas, catalog is my favorite of the year. The very first fall, late summer August edition is the one I get the most excited to see- but that one is my actual favorite πŸ™‚

    • October 19, 2010 2:38 pm

      I love them too. I use PB mainly as an idea book. I also love Ballard Design. πŸ™‚

  4. October 18, 2010 7:15 pm

    I too fall into the trap of thinking that I would be happier, more grateful, and an all-around better person if my house was more organized and better decorated. Thanks for the great post.

  5. October 19, 2010 9:49 am

    great post. blessings on your new memory work – Ps 103 was one of the first longer passages I did and one that has stuck with me better than most, such a wonderful one to have in your heart!

  6. October 19, 2010 2:56 pm

    Saw your tweet, sister — we are so on the same page! πŸ™‚ I can’t help it though…I love PB. But I am trying to be grateful and appreciative of life’s smaller, but sweeter gifts. And the peace of God that comes with them. Thanks Danielle. This is great.

Trackbacks

  1. Weekend Links « Hope Road

Leave a Reply

