Skip to content

The Freedom of Gratitude | Multitude Monday

October 4, 2010

Gratitude unleashes the freedom to live content in the moment, rather than being anxious about the future or regretting the past. -Ellen Vaughn

Two weeks have already passed since I posted my first Multitude Monday post. Time is simply flying. I can’t believe September has melted into October already. Sophia will be six weeks tomorrow and we’re adjusting to our new autumn schedule.

I enrolled Duncan and Owen into a weekly nature program and they went to their first class last week and learned about birds. This week the theme is camouflage. The program is well run and includes a story time, singing, a show and tell kind of nature talk, a craft, and nature walk. They were particular enthralled with the live snakes and turtles in the nature room!

As I think about all I have to be thankful for this week I’m very aware of my lack of gratitude. The past two days I’ve felt stuck in a cycle of complaint and ingratitude. I’ve been anything but “content in the moment” as the above quote puts it. I’ve lashed out at anything I’ve perceived to be slightly irritating. I’ve been weepy. I’m not sure if I’m stressed, hormonal, angry, or just plain mean. It hasn’t been pretty. I certainly can’t blame it on lack of sleep or an unhappy infant. Sophia is a dream baby and even slept through the night the past two nights. If anything, the past two days has shown me how much I still need to grow in having a grateful spirit! And how gratitude bring with it freedom. So this week I’m thankful for . . .

11. Josh, who is at once patient with me for the past two days without being a pushover. I like that.

12. Duncan spontaneously telling me he loves me.

13. Discovering the sweet series Lark Rise to Candleford. Gives me something extra to look forward to for those late night feedings.

14. Hot coffee on dark cool mornings.

15. The kindness of our mechanic friend, giving up his Saturday to help Josh work on our Subaru, to get it ready to sell.

16. Getting all our summer/winter clothes switched out of our closets and dressers.

17. Rain.

18. My sister spending her day off by helping me out on Friday. We were able to go to the library and stock up on lots of books and dvds for the rainy days ahead.

19. A good book.

20. “The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; his mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.” Lamentations 3:22-23

How thankful am I to receive this morning’s new mercies and steadfast love!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 4, 2010 10:05 am

    We are our own worst critic. Your honesty and real journal entry causes me to say amen sister. This amen is not without pain, but how can we aspire to righteousness without pruning. I pray your day is filled with opportunity for contentment and joy that only our loving Father can bless us with.

  2. October 4, 2010 12:03 pm

    I too am loving A PRAYING LIFE! The ladies in our care group are going through it this next year. We’ve only gotten through chapter 4 so far, but I’ve been reading ahead. I especially appreciate the examples he shares from his own family life. How far have you read?

    • October 4, 2010 4:28 pm

      I’m on chapter 24, Krista. I’m really loving it too. I think it gets better as you go along! Prayer is something I’ve really wanted to develop this year. This book has been a HUGE help! So real and honest too!

  3. October 4, 2010 3:36 pm

    Dropping by from the Gratitude Community. I encourage you to continue to look for HIM in that soft baby skin and sweet smiles from your little ones! I wish I had known gratitude in that season of my life. It is changing my outlook and helping me focus on things of eternal significance. Joining your there today!
    IN HIM,
    Karen

  4. October 4, 2010 8:09 pm

    What refreshing gratitude points and thoughts.

  5. October 5, 2010 12:55 am

    Discovered you through the Gratitude Community! I totally hear you – I had a really odd last few days -since Thursday -specifically. They weren’t ‘bad’ days per say- overall they were pretty good days spent with family. But I just kept running late and/or out of time, getting in a rush, getting frazzled & short with my family, thus forgetting things, putting me in a pinch and having to scramble for what I’d forgotten, therefore putting me further behind and further worn out. Battled against my inner voice telling me I was a ‘loser’ and ‘can’t do anything right’. Talked myself into calming down, letting it go, and just ‘going with it’. Then thanking God that even though I fell short, he was still the God of mercy and grace and loved me just the same no matter what. And then I’d have to do it again the next day. I was determined that today would be different and I would be in more control. Yeah. Right. Tomorrow is another day. Another day of gifts to be mindful of amidst the shortcomings. I’ve only been at this Multitude Monday thing for like 2 weeks, and still haven’t quite grasped the experience Ann seems to have with this. (Amazingly gifted writer, isn’t she?) But,I think it will take some time, and as you said, needing to grow into a truly grateful spirit. I agree it will bring freedom…I long for that. And I long for a slower life pace, to be more deliberate with my choices and not keep just letting life ‘happen’ to me (what I can control, that is) and turn around one day and wonder where it all went and what I have to show for it all. (I think our society needs that! Really on my heart lately!) He’s drawing me in. I want to join Him and see what’s in store!
    (sorry for the rambling, just wanted to linger a moment and share! I’ll be back to visit again!)

  6. October 11, 2010 10:37 am

    Danielle, first of all I want to thank you for responding to my comment I made just this morning (Oct 11) and for visiting my blog! I know you are extremely busy and I appreciate it so much!! So…… by doing that, I came back here again, and just read this Gratitude post AND love it so. It brought tears to my eyes…..Thank you so much for your realness and your tender heart for the Lord and for sharing it with all of us…..and thank you for encouraging me with my blog……PS. One of my daughter-in-loves just had her second son 4 weeks ago so I KNOW how busy your life is!!! Again, blessings in Him, Cate

Leave a Reply

