Skip to content

Favorite Finds

September 8, 2010

I don’t find much time to post here lately, as I’m busy nursing and keeping the little boys occupied. We’re doing great and adjusting well to our new routine. Sophia is sleeping and nursing wonderfully, which is all you can ask from a newborn! I’m finding it much easier compared to last time, partly because I knew what to expect. Partly because she’s one little infant to care for, instead of two.

But I did want to take a moment and share this little post some of my favorite finds from this summer; items I’ve discovered and enjoyed. Here’s what I’m loving:

First of all, after 10 years or more of searching, I’ve finally found a collection of fragrances that I absolutely love. And that would be the collection from Jo Malone. Thanks to Beth for introducing me to the line. For our anniversary Josh bought me Pomegranate Noir, which is dark, musky, and exotic. I love how the scent changes the longer I wear it. It’s the perfect scent for me, who typically likes men’s cologne better than women’s. Since this line is unisex, it makes sense I’d like it. I also love the fact you can mix any of the fragrances together to personalize it. I also got samples of Grapefruit, Lime Basil & Mandarin, and Sweet Lime & Cedar, all of which I liked as well. There also are corresponding body lotions and candles.

Since I’m a fan of making my own iced coffees, buying this insulated Starbucks cup was a great purchase. During the heat of this past summer iced coffee became a treat to enjoy during the boys’ nap time. I confess I made various versions several times a week. This cup kept my coffee cold in our unconditioned house so I could enjoy it leisurely.

For my birthday Josh bought me a green and brown damask version of *Shey*[B] Camera Strap Slipcovers.  The selling point on this over other camera straps was the lens cap pocket. I don’t like my lens cap dangling from my camera, and I can’t tell y0u how many times I’ve lost track of it only to discover it stuck in my pocket or some other place I thought I’d remember. Now my lens cap fits snugly into the pocket and doesn’t fall out. Love that.

What are some of your favorite finds from the summer?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 2:17 pm

    I want that camera strap w/ the lens holder. No pro.photographer here, but like you I can never figure out what to do w/ my lens if I don’t have pockets. And, then when I do have pockets, I forget that I put it there. 😉

    • September 8, 2010 2:22 pm

      They’re not that expensive, Briana, but make sure you allow a month or more, as she makes them when you order them and it takes a while.

  2. September 10, 2010 10:13 am

    Have the same S-bux cup and LOVE it.
    Also, second the camera strap, though I got mine before she started doing the lens pockets. BUMMER. I suppose I could sew one on myself 🙂
    A favorite find of our summer?
    a local coffee shop with AMAZING chai, less than 2 miles from my casa.

  3. Abbey permalink
    September 11, 2010 2:40 pm

    Can you still get those cups?? I’ve wanted one so bad the last 3 months!

    • September 11, 2010 3:14 pm

      I don’t know, Abbey, I think they only sell them seasonally, so they might not be around until next summer.

  4. September 11, 2010 4:45 pm

    My favorite thing this summer has been taking Liam to swim lessons and watching him splash around and enjoy the water. Not sure if this is really a find, but it’s what I’ve enjoyed.

    The other thing I have “found” this year is an hour in the morning and an hour in the evening that used to be spent commuting 🙂

    • September 11, 2010 4:46 pm

      Oh, and Pandora. I just got into listening to it this summer. Yes, I know – I’m always incredibly behind on technology.

Leave a Reply

