Skip to content

Lazy Day Duff

August 8, 2010

I’m really not as food obsessed as my blog might lead you to believe. Actually, I’m quite tired of summer cooking, despite the fact that many summer vegetables are now coming into their full glory. I’m ready for autumn and feeling the itch to do more baking, although it’s often still too hot to turn on the oven to do “unnecessary” baking.

But I’ve had some good recipes lately that I’ve just had to share. The following is a family favorite. My grandmother used to make it, my mom made it, and now it’s something I enjoy making too. I have no idea where the recipe originated, but it’s perfect for blackberries. You can use any fruit or berry, but really I mainly make it with black raspberries or wine berries and top it with vanilla ice cream.

The great thing about it is it’s SO easy. Not all cobbler type recipes are, but this one is so simple and uses ingredients you should be able to easily find in your pantry.

Lazy Day Duff

1 stick butter
1 cup flour
1/2 cup sugar
3 tsp. baking powder
1/8 salt
2/3 cup milk
2 cups sweetened fruit or berries

Melt butter in a 8 in. baking pan. Stir together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt. Add milk, stirring until just blended. Spoon over butter. Do not stir. Pour berries or fruit over batter. Bake at 375 for 35 minutes.

Serve with whipped cream or ice cream.

Yes, it’s really that simple.

(Image: Jessica Rivera)

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 14, 2010 6:29 pm

    Oh, I know those berries are yummy. But, my eyes are drawn to your beautiful plate!! 🙂

    Butter, berries served on a beautiful plate. Can I come over? …

Leave a Reply

