Skip to content

It’s amazing what paint can do . . .

July 15, 2010

I’m joining in on the Summer Tour of Homes but am approaching it a bit differently than previous tours. Instead of  pictures of details of summer decor, which I don’t really have, I’m going to show you a recent makeover of our living room.

Besides, most of my summer decor is the flowers I plant around my house, and I already showed you that.

Anyway, here’s some pictures of our living room. They’re not super recent, but it shows you the paint color that the living room used to be. I loved the color, but it just didn’t work in our house. The room doesn’t get a lot of natural light, especially in winter, and the ceilings are low. It ended up feeling cave like and depressing in the winter.

I’d been wanting to get the living room repainted before the baby arrives, so Josh decided to do it July 4th weekend. We decided to go with the same color that is in the dining room, to make the rooms visually flow into each other more.

I am loving the result!

It feels much more airy and open. Not to mention we have a classy new ceiling fan, unlike the ghastly gold thing we had before.

So thankful to my hubby who spent his whole holiday weekend working so hard on this project!

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Abigail permalink
    July 16, 2010 7:55 am

    Where did you get the corner entertainment center / tv stand? I’m looking for something similar. 🙂

  2. July 16, 2010 8:02 am

    It looks great. I definitely did brighten up the room. Good job, Josh! Glad your hard work paid off. Hope we get over soon to enjoy it ourselves, too.

  3. anne permalink
    July 16, 2010 8:03 am

    Danielle! It looks great! It is amazing what a little paint can do…completely changes the feel of the room. I liked your living room before too, but it does seem so much brighter now which is always welcome! 🙂
    ps- Justin just replaced the nasty celing fan in our living room too, {we had a nasty one with a HUGE ball light thing..oh it was so gross and if the fan was on the chain pull would hit the light…so annoying}…and jus a simple change like that makes such a differen too!

    ps- what was the paint color you used?

  4. July 16, 2010 8:35 am

    Love how the color really opened up the room!

  5. July 16, 2010 9:12 am

    What a transformation! Love the new color and the fan. Kudoes to your man (and YOU! It’s always at least a 2-person job, even if your job is vacating the premises with the little ones).

    • July 16, 2010 9:15 am

      Yes, on the Saturday that he worked I just mostly kept them outside playing all day so he wouldn’t be bothered. I can boast that I painted the baseboard trim, though!! 🙂

  6. bethyoung permalink
    July 16, 2010 9:29 am

    That does look nice! Airy and clean. I love it.

  7. July 16, 2010 1:22 pm

    I too loved your previous paint color but I understand what you mean about it not working for your space. I LOVE the new color and your decorating as always.

    It means so much to me too when my hubby helps my projects come to fruition…even if HE’s the one to take the kids. It is an undertaking to be sure.

  8. July 16, 2010 1:42 pm

    It looks wonderful! It really brightens up the room, though I did like the darker color, too. The big question is: does the paint *look* cooler or *feel* cooler? Without A/C, this is an important factor…:)

  9. Kjirstin permalink
    July 16, 2010 2:01 pm

    I love it!! I love what paint can do too. My sister just helped me paint 3 rooms in our new house (both bathrooms and our bedroom) and it feels so much more like “ours”, and is so much nicer!!

  10. July 16, 2010 2:02 pm

    looks great! paint is my favorite decor decision 🙂

  11. July 16, 2010 3:02 pm

    I thought your living room was pretty before but this does make it look much more open. Good job for getting it done in a weekend. I always take FOREVER to finish paining the trim. In fact, I still have some places to finish at my house…

    • July 16, 2010 3:07 pm

      Hey, we still have a LOT of trim to paint in our house. Like, most of the house! And doors! We’re hoping to finally get it done over the winter . . .

  12. July 16, 2010 7:42 pm

    I finally got around to putting up ONE of my projects, though I have more to show in the coming days.

  13. July 17, 2010 9:19 pm

    wow. it’s so airy beautiful now! [love]

  14. Bethany permalink
    July 24, 2010 5:03 pm

    Looks beautiful. I love it!!!!!

  15. Sheena permalink
    September 29, 2011 9:51 pm

    How tall are your ceilings? I have the same color in my living and dining rooms. We have shorter ceilings as well and your crown molding looks awesome with the color. I really wanted to add molding to ours, but wasn’t sure if it would made it look shorter. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

