Skip to content

4th of July Pie

July 5, 2010

If you like lemon and blueberry, this pie is for you. Not to mention you don’t have to bake anything but the crust for a mere 8 minutes, so for hot summer days, it makes pie making as easy as, well, pie!

I got the recipe from this blog (scroll down halfwayish for her post on the pie, for some reason I couldn’t link directly to the post). And a quick disclaimer: the picture above is from when I made this pie several years ago, and I actually didn’t layer the berries between the lemon filling like you’re supposed to. Just an fyi.

Blueberry Pie

Ingredients Needed:
– 1 package of graham crackers, crumbed
– 1/4 cup sugar
– 1/3 cup butter, melted
– 8 oz cream cheese
– 14 oz can sweetened condensed milk
– 1/4 cup powdered sugar
– 3.4oz package lemon instant pudding mix
– 2 tsp grated lemon rind
– 1/2 cup lemon juice
– 1 pint blueberries
– 2 tbs blueberry preserves
– 1 cup whipping cream

1. Stir together graham cracker crumbs, sugar, and butter.

2. Press evenly in bottom and up sides of a 9-inch pie plate. Bake pie crust at 350 for 8 minutes. Cool completely.

3. Beat cheese, milk, and powdered sugar until creamy.

4. Add pudding mix, rind, and juice. Beat until blended.

5. Spread half of mixture into crust.

6. Stir together blueberries and preserves, spread evenly over lemon mixture.

7. Spread remaining lemon mixture over blueberry mixture. Cover and chill 2 hours.

8. Beat whipping cream until stiff peaks form and spread around out edge of pie forming a decorative border.

Since I was short on time I bought pre-made graham cracker crusts, baked them, and then made the filling. So easy and a great pie to make on a summer day since you don’t have to bake the pie and you serve it cold.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 7:49 am

    oh. oh yum. I am SO making this when I get back on sugar again…

  2. Caroline Swartz permalink
    July 6, 2010 8:38 am

    This looks awesome! I’m gonna try and make it for this week. Thanks for sharing your baking secrets. 🙂

  3. July 6, 2010 9:58 am

    I am so glad you reposted this recipe. Let me say for the record, this is one of the BEST desserts I have ever eaten. It ranks right up there with Cheesecake Factory cheesecake. Sarah made it one summer (the summer you first posted it) and …WOW…for a no-bake pie, it was beyond awesome. Thanks (or maybe I should say “thanks but no thanks!”) for reminding me of this recipe. The entire family loved it, including Paul who is not a blueberry fan!

    • July 6, 2010 9:23 pm

      So glad you liked it! It’s nice to know people make the recipes you post, you know!?! That’s it’s not done in vain, ha ha! 🙂

  4. July 6, 2010 12:24 pm

    Oooohhhh, I am so making this! Thanks, friend – my hips will testify…

  5. July 7, 2010 12:48 am

    Danielle, I kicked myself for going to Giant w/o the recipe. I went on an errand for Paul’s picnic tomorrow at work, not thinking dessert. ARGH! I am so wanting this pie NOW!

  6. amandadod permalink
    July 8, 2010 10:49 pm

    This looks really, really good! I may have to try it this weekend. Thanks for the recipe!

Leave a Reply

