Skip to content

Garden Magic

July 1, 2010

This year my garden has really come into its own. After transplanting daylillies, phlox, and cone flowers from my mom’s and adding a peony and some urns to the front, the flowerbeds are finally starting to fill out. I still have some bare areas that need some plants, but we’ll get there!

This daylilly adds color to the front garden.

Josh bought me two “balloon flowers” for our anniversary last year.

I love this garden decoration my mom bought me for Mother’s Day last year.

Two garden urns flank our front steps. They were the urns used at our wedding and had ferns in them. I love how so much of my garden flowers and “stuff” have a history and tell a story.

Our tomatoes on the deck are coming along. Last year the boys kept picking the green tomatoes off, but this year they’re patiently (mostly) waiting for them to turn red.

Our little veggie garden out back holds more tomatoes, beans, eggplants, peppers, and herbs. Can’t wait to start eating them!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 3:17 pm

    I have some balloon flowers, too. I brought them down from my moms in PA and they lived to “tell about it”. 🙂
    After a year or two, they are finally giving me flowers this year. They are lovely perennials.

  2. July 1, 2010 4:15 pm

    Beautiful! I so admire those with a green thumb. It’s a trait I have yet to acquire.

  3. Ashleigh permalink
    July 3, 2010 7:54 am

    Danielle, I love how you shared some of the “stories” your garden tells. Every year we put up the artificial Christmas tree and some of the decorations from our wedding reception. I love being reminded of those memories and that our Christmas decorations hold such meaning.

    And we planted plants in memory of Noah this last month. I love looking at them because they tell part of our story too.

  4. Bethany permalink
    July 5, 2010 1:20 pm

    Looks yummy. I hope that next year I can build some beds to garden in. Our backyard is sooooo shady so I am gonna have to do it on the side of the backyard that is a driveway to our detached garage. Gonna get Aaron to build me some containers that I can do stuff in there. I just couldn’t muster the extra time and energy with a baby this year to do it. I bet your tomatoes are gonna be super yum

Trackbacks

  1. It’s amazing what paint can do . . . « Dancing by the Light

Leave a Reply

