Skip to content

The Clothesline

June 22, 2010

Clothes on the line. I remember as a child going to hang out the laundry. I’d throw a book in the basket too and sneak in a few moments of reading–between hanging shirts and short–making the process stretch out longer than needed.

When I was all grown up and married, I was delighted to discover a clothes line at the house we ended up buying. Nothing beats the smell of crisp sheets, smelling of the outdoors.

But now that the clothesline is mine, so often the task of hanging wet clothes becomes drudgery. It’s easier just to throw them in the dryer, it doesn’t take as long. Hanging them outside is just another thing to do, an item on the list to be hurried through and crossed off. I forget how much I enjoy the result of line-dried clothes. That wonderful smell that can’t be reproduced by dryer sheets. The fresh feel under skin.

And a lot of other things that once brought joy can become drudgery too, if I let them. Taking care of my kids. Making dinner. Cleaning the house. They’re just things to hurry through so I can get on to the fun stuff.

But if I do that, I miss out on simple joys that are really the things that make up life. The “thank you” of my son as I hand him breakfast. The taste of a well-prepared meal. The thankfulness that I even own a house to clean.

So today I’m thankful for my clothesline, and that it teaches me to slow down and savor the simple things–everyday things–in life.

Just my contribution to Tuesdays Unwrapped with Chatting at the Sky . . .

17 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 12:14 pm

    beautiful post Danielle and a great reminder. PS. I wish I had a clothes line… and a house πŸ™‚

  2. June 22, 2010 12:20 pm

    yes. that.

  3. June 22, 2010 12:51 pm

    I suddenly have this desire to visit my grandma. She always had sheets hanging on her clothesline in her backyard. I feel like my life is so caught up in busyness and your post makes me long for a slower pace of life. Thanks for sharing this!

  4. June 22, 2010 3:48 pm

    I love this!! We should always remember to count our blessings…

  5. June 22, 2010 5:33 pm

    Oh, I’m so glad you posted this. I’ve been frantically trying to sort through my own thoughts on the matter. And you expressed what I was trying to get at… simply and beautifully.

  6. June 22, 2010 5:34 pm

    (By “get at,” I mean “figure out.”) πŸ˜›

  7. June 22, 2010 7:13 pm

    I heartily agree…about the clothesline too.

  8. June 23, 2010 1:02 am

    I am stopping by from Tuesdays Unwrapped. Thanks for the wonderful reminder! Enjoyed your post. Loved the photo.

  9. June 23, 2010 7:34 am

    the photo got me…
    I agree,
    and it’s easier some days than others.

    but the photo…. stunning .

  10. June 23, 2010 2:10 pm

    Thanks for all your comments! Glad others understand this tension too!

  11. Bethany permalink
    June 24, 2010 12:57 am

    Love the picture!!! Love the reminder more. I needed to hear this today as I cleaned my floor for the third time.

    PS our first house had a clothes line too. Don’t have one now and I need one. I love that smell. Reminded me of Sheet Washing Saturdays when I was a kid. My mom always washed all of our sheets on Sat and hung them to dry. Sat nights I have vivid memories of getting into bed with that ozone smell.

  12. June 24, 2010 1:21 pm

    So true…the clothesline can be a blessing or a burden….I use mine…when it’s not raining. The only thing I don’t like? underwear that feels like sandpaper….

  13. June 24, 2010 2:23 pm

    I am a missionary’s wife in Ukraine, and I just wrote on my blog about how I do my laundry here. I don’t have the advantage of having a dryer… no such thing here, really. So, I am FORCED to live the simple life and hang my clothes on a line… and would have it no other way (well, most of the time!)

  14. June 24, 2010 2:58 pm

    Wow that’s a gorgeous photo. That green…mesmerizing.

    I used to hate hanging laundry when I was a kid…I guess that’s why I toss sheets and clothes in the dryer now. But your description of that intoxicating scent sure is enticing!

  15. June 24, 2010 9:03 pm

    love that shot, really do. we had a clothesline when i was growing up, too… i miss it. πŸ™‚

  16. June 27, 2010 2:07 pm

    I so get where you’re coming from. Mostly I just want to get the ‘chores’ over with so I can do something that I like. Thank you for pointing out that there is so much I’ll miss if I spend most of my day just trying to get things over with.

    I also appreciate the comment about being thankful for a house to clean. I have had to remind myself of this a lot in the past few months.

Trackbacks

  1. Reading for Your Morning Cup | Hope Road

Leave a Reply

