Skip to content

Pad Thai

June 2, 2010

I’m behind on blogging.  I have lots of pictures to post of recent projects and so forth, but the evenings are just too short! Especially since a certain young man has had problems going to bed and we spend a good bit of the evening taking trips back to bed. I’ve also been totally overhauling my photography business: revamping my logo, all associated marketing materials, and will soon be launching a fresh new website! More on that soon . . .

When I worked at The Walters I loved to eat at the many ethnic restaurants downtown. One of my favorites was pad thai from a little whole-in-the-wall place called Thairish. Mmmm. So good! Loved squeezing that lime over the yummy goodness of noodles, chicken, and sprouts.

A few weeks ago I tried out making pad thai for the first time at home. Didn’t turn out tasting just like my favorite take-out place, but it was tasty and Josh and the boys loved it so I have to say, it was a keeper.

Pad Thai (Serves 4 or 2 very hungry people)

Ingredients:
1/2 pound uncooked linguine
3/4 cup tomato juice
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon white vinegar
2 teaspoons sugar
3/4 teaspoon cornstarch
3 tablespoons vegetable oil, divided
1/2 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into thin strips/bite size pieces
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 pound bean sprouts, rinse and drained
1/3 cup sliced green onions and tops
1/2 pound cooked baby shrimp, rinsed and drained (I omitted this because I had none on hand and just added more chicken)
1 tablespoon minced fresh cilantro
Lime wedges

Directions:

1. Cook linguine according to package directions, omitting salt; drain.

2. Combine tomato juice, soy sauce, vinegar, sugar and cornstarch.

3. Heat 1 Tbsp. oil in hot wok or large skillet over high heat. Add chicken and stir-fry for 1 minute; remove.

4. Heat remaining 2 Tbsp. oil in same pan. Add garlic, bean sprouts, and green onions; stir-fry 1 minute.

5. Stir in linguine and cook 2 minutes, or until heated through. Add chicken with shrimp, cilantro and tomato juice mixture. Cook, stirring, until sauce boils and thickens.

6. Serve with lime wedges.

Eat up!


5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2010 7:48 am

    Think it would be OK with whole wheat linguine?

  2. June 3, 2010 4:41 pm

    Wow Danielle. How DO you do it all? Writer, photographer, Mommy, Cook… 🙂 I can barely survive working part-time as I help put my husband through school 🙂 Amazing.

    Looking forward to seeing the site. I told my mom about your blurb book the other day and how awesome it was. I’m still trying to find the time to get heavy into mine. Wish I wasn’t a perfectionist.

    Looks like a great recipe.

    • June 4, 2010 1:21 pm

      Goodness, I don’t do it all! I just say I use naptime effectively. 🙂 You remind me I should work on my Blurb book for this year too. I like trying to do a little bit throughout the year so it’s not a massive amount to do at the end of the year!

  3. Bethany permalink
    June 4, 2010 11:09 am

    Oh yum. Gonna have to try this one.

Leave a Reply

