Skip to content

The Radical Life

May 9, 2010

Growing up, I wanted to live a radical life for God. I imagined myself a modern Amy Carmichael living in a foreign country, writing books, and rescuing babies. I devoured Elisabeth Elliot’s books about missionary life in the jungle. Perhaps I’d save children from poverty in the streets of India, teach English in China, or start an orphanage in Africa for children left parentless by AIDS.

I wanted to glorify God by giving it all up for Him. No ordinary life for me!

Now, picking cheerios and sippy cups off of the floor, I realize my life is quite ordinary. Instead of the radical life I envisioned, I’m a stay-at-home mom whose main calling is to serve her family. And it was as a new mother of twins I learned that even in the ordinary life God could be glorified, which I couldn’t have foreseen as a dreamy-eyed teenager reading missionary biographies.

Continue reading . . .

(Image: Ungrind.org)

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 7:07 am

    Thanks for the reminder!! It’s so easy to fall into the thought patter than all of this (stay at home stuff) really doesn’t matter much to anyone. I have been reevaluating my heart and attitude lately, so your article was a great boost in that direction!

  2. Beth permalink
    May 10, 2010 10:20 am

    This is where I’m at right now Danielle. Sometimes I feel like a completely different person and like I don’t even know who I am. But YES! it is glorifying to God to feed my son for most hours of the day and to talk or sing to him when all he can do is stare or cry or make one of those gassy smiles. Thank you for this encouraging post – you helped me realize that I am making a difference even if MY type A personality can’t stand that I’m still in my pjs at 11:30 am.

  3. May 10, 2010 12:32 pm

    Lib, glad you were freshly encouraged!

    Beth, I remember how you’re feeling like it was yesterday! It can be a hard adjustment. And for some reason, we can end up feeling like we’re *supposed* to feel starry-eyed all the time and instead just end up feeling guilty for not feeling the way we thing we ought to. Give me a call if you ever need someone to talk to!

  4. bethyoung permalink
    May 10, 2010 12:32 pm

    I loved this Danielle, great job.

  5. May 10, 2010 8:06 pm

    golly. I love your heart. you give me so much courage to say what is true, and to trust God with it.

  6. May 18, 2010 1:40 pm

    I also was not preparred for the time commitment and felt like the all-consuming task of nursing was “wasting” my time. Thank you for sharing, this post is an encouragement to me.

  7. June 5, 2010 5:18 pm

    Very well put. It’s been a few (4yrs) since those truly demanding hours of nursing ect. What a great reminder of dying to self to live a truly radical life!

    And your little belly looks so cute btw!

Leave a Reply

