Skip to content

Solicited Suggestions

April 15, 2010

So, as I’m gearing up for baby #3 I’m dong some research on some things I’ll be needing this time around. I’m planning on splurging on an Ergo carrier (for when the baby is older and long outings) and a Sleepy Wrap carrier (for the early days) because I know I’ll be babywearing a lot more than last time, considering I’ll need hands free for my little boys, especially when we’re out and about. I’ll need a new single stroller, but otherwise, we’ve got most of the items we’ll need. I plan on selling off some of my double baby items to help purchase the new stroller too, hopefully. But here’s a couple of things I’d like to get your suggestions and thoughts about.

Cloth Diapers
I’m planning going all crunchy and green and cloth diapering. I wanted to last time–until I discovered I was having twins–then so many needs and purchases mounted up and I felt like I should allow myself that one luxury of disposable diapers. I have to say I kind of regretted it. Sooo, I’m researching diapers and wow, the options are tremendous! It’s like I’ve entered a new universe. Anyway, I think I’ve got an idea of what I want (the pocket one size fits all style)Β  but wanted to hear from any of you cloth diapering veterns out there. What brands do you use and why do you like them? Any helpful tidbit of knowledge to pass along?

Diaper Bag
I’m also trying decide on how big of a bag I’m going to need when baby #3 arrives. I’d love to know what you mama’s of 3 kids or more like to use. I’m going to have to cram all my stuff, plus baby’s, plus the boys’ all in one bag. I don’t anticipate needing much for the boys at that point. Hopefully they’ll be potty trained by then, so I’ll really only their water bottles. My Amy Butler designed nappy bag may work, but if not, I’d like to get some ideas from you all. When the boys were little I had a backpack and that was okay, but I don’t like using it for everyday. It was a pain to take it off my back every time I just needed my wallet. It’s still nice for day trips, but that’s it. So feel free to let me know what works for you and leave links!!

So suggest away!

23 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2010 12:25 pm

    Congrats on #3! When are you due? I thought I’d weigh in on the diaper bag issue. I don’t know about you, but I’m tired of carrying a diaper bag. For #3 we used a backpack that we kept stocked with everything all 3 kids might need. It was a mini Jansport type one. That way, too, my husband was more willing to carry it. πŸ™‚

  2. Leanne permalink
    April 15, 2010 12:44 pm

    Are you familiar with Baby Steals (http://www.babysteals.com)? They have a single item each day, limited quantity, posted at 11am EST, at a huge discount. I ask because I got an Ergo baby carrier from there recently and they have said they will have more Ergo stuff in the future. I haven’t decided if I’m keeping the one I ordered or giving it to the cousin I originally purchased it for – but it was over 50% off and I couldn’t pass it up!

  3. April 15, 2010 12:49 pm

    Okay, we might be here a while…:)
    Diapers – you know you can come over and look at what I’ve got, but the short answer is to decide what features are important to you: cost, environ. impact, bulkiness, etc. These may seem like details, but will definitely effect what you choose and how well what you choose works for you. Prefolds are cheap, dry fast(espeically line dried) and aren’t too bulky, but aren’t the most absorbant. Pockets are great, but you have to be faithful to line dry them because the more they’re tumble-dried, the faster the waterproof layer wears out. We’ve used Motherease One size – a one size fits all job with seperate waterproof wrap. We’ve been very happy with them and are now successfully catching our 5th child’s, um, produce. They are bulkier, so if you don’t like that, it’s something to keep in mind. They are absorbant, though, and you don’t have to worry about keeping track of sizes. You wouldn’t want to stuff a bunch in your bag for out and about, though – the all in ones or pockets are better for that (not to mention disposables!).
    Bag – any bag choice you make needs to take into account the fact that you could be babywearing, so a backpack might be the way to go, especially if you have to load it up with stuff for 3 kids – you wouldn’t want to strain your back and neck overloading one side of your body with a weight a donkey couldn’t carry. As for keeping your wallet and cell handy, you could use a bum bag (lame, but effective) or a zippered pouch with a caribeener to hook to your sling (though that would really work best with a ring sling).
    Just some things to think about… πŸ˜‰
    Dude, did I really type all that??

    • April 15, 2010 1:25 pm

      Yes, Kelly, I want to come over and check out your diaper goods! And the back issue is an important one, especially since I’ve had problems with mine. So maybe I’ll just load up the ole backpack again. This is why I’m thinking I will wait until I actually have the baby to figure this one out. πŸ™‚

  4. April 15, 2010 2:00 pm

    Wow. You are brave… #3 πŸ˜‰ .. I just had #2, and I’m done! …

    I didn’t go green with diapers.. but, for diaper bag, I love, love, love my “Fleurville” Diaper bag. It’s last me through two babies and it’s so stylish AND functional. Sturdy because I log a kitchen sink, and it goes with stroller, and functions as a purse, hanging on my arm.

    I can’t rave about it enough.

    Do you know what gender your baby will be? … And the name? .. that is my FAVE part of the pregnancy.. the naming!

    Congratulations, Danielle on your baby #3!

    btw, THANK YOU for keeping me company at Kelly’s place, when I guest posted last week on the REST post.

    How did your article go… drop me a link if it’s online.. would love to read.. or would love an email copy, too. It’s a hot topic for me now..

    btw, if you’re up for it, I want to invite you to take the “What If” Challenge today with me
    http://bit.ly/cCaTf1

    I would LOVE to “jam” with you. πŸ˜‰ Game?

  5. April 15, 2010 2:54 pm

    Danielle- I started off with cloth diapers for Collin. If you want to read about my experience, I blogged about it in Jan.09. Anyway, I used BumGenius. They were expensive, but really great. Unfortunately, I can’t compare it to anything else bc that’s all I tried. Collin eventually outgrew the one-size-fits-all, and I moved on to disposable diapers after that.

    • April 15, 2010 8:51 pm

      Uh, oh. Out grew them, that’s not good! I’ll check out that post, Rebecca.

  6. Morgan permalink
    April 15, 2010 7:47 pm

    Danielle,

    I have quite a few woven wraps and mei tais from my nannying days that are not in use right now! Let me know if you would like to borrow them!

    Morgan

  7. April 16, 2010 8:16 am

    Obviously, I can’t post an opinion on this one, but – I read another blog from a girl in San Diego (she attends the church I use to go to…), and well, she’s S-U-P-E-R crunchy. But also VERY analytical and completely meticulous in her research, she recently had a baby and wrote a LOT on cloth diapering and costs.

    http://oursandiegoadventure.blogspot.com/search/label/Cloth%20Diapering

    She has about 10 entries on cloth diapering. She also has many other blog entries on cooking organically, home remedies, vaccinations, and other crunchy things…

    I don’t personally know her, she started attending the church in San Diego shortly after I moved back to MD….I stumbled upon her blog through other San Diego friends’ blogs….and have really enjoyed it.

  8. Nicole Hammond permalink
    April 16, 2010 9:38 am

    I can’t weigh in on the cloth diapers- although I will be interested to hear about your adventures with them. But, I got a new diaper bag when I had Jack and I still love it. It’s the Vera Bradley bag. I got the matching wallet and was able to use it as my bag/purse. I still use it because it is the perfect size for carrying my macbook! Good luck with your choices!

  9. Bethany permalink
    April 16, 2010 10:35 am

    Well, I baby wear and still am with Kade at 7 month. I use the sleepy wrap. I still have my JuJu Be Diaper bag from when I had Adelee. I use it and I personally LOVE messenger style diaper bags. Also love all the little organized compartments of this bag. I always know where my phone is and wallet and keys. No hunting or dumping the whole bag out. Now I don’t use it for long hikes…..but for about town they are perfect. Grocery store I just wrap over the handles of the cart. Addie still sits in cart so her feet rest on the top. When I am at zoo, disneyland and such I just throw it in the bottom of the stroller. And when I am popping in and out of somewhere it just is on my arm. Works for me. It has held up pretty well. I do have a tiny tear in the part that holds the changing pad cause I stuffed too much in there once. I try to keep it to a few diapers wipes and clothes for Kade and a few toys and my essentials. I always keep spare clothes for Adelee and another set of diapers and wipes in my car for the times I am just quickly running out or forget to restock the diaper bag. Which with four things like that happen a lot now. For the most part she doesn’t need spare clothes when we are out but when she does I can quickly run out to the car. Then I am not lugging a suitcase around. When I hike and such we just throw it in our backpack that we wear Adelee in. I don’t like backpacks for everyday use. I found that I never hooked them on both arms anyway.

    I don’t cloth diaper. I hate dealing with poo. HA HA. But my sister in law has with all three of her kids. She has tried almost everything and even made her own. She has a post on cloth diapering
    http://nearinghome.blogspot.com/2010/01/cloth-diapering-101.html

    So excited you are having a girly

    • April 16, 2010 12:28 pm

      Thanks for the suggestions. Yes, I tend towards messenger style bags in general. I use the metro timbuk2 bag as my everyday one right now because it’s small but I can get a lot packed into it, including diapers & wipes for boys. Perfect for around town. And I too, then to just put the backpack on one shoulder, which tends to defeat the purpose.

  10. April 16, 2010 10:58 am

    Well.
    As for cloth diapering, I’ve used to g-diapers. When I started using them, they only sold the disposable inserts, but NOW they do sell their own washable inserts. I used the g-diapers both ways. I used disposables when out/vacations etc…and used the cloth at home. I liked them, and they were easy to clean, and I really didn’t have to deal with poo, buckets and all that. A friend of mine used bumgenius, and it seemed like a lot of work. She has three now, all under three and I don’t think she uses them at all anymore. You really have to be commited.
    The g-diapers worked great with the method I used, but I think disposable is the easiest and obviously most convenient. G-diapers come in s {8-14lbs.} m{13-26bs} and l {25-36lbs} and I only bought smalls and mediums, after that I switched to full time disposables since he needs less changing. You can get some good deals on g-diapers and I was able to re-sell mine on a yahoo g-diaper group listing for a good price. Thing is, not sure if I would do anything but disposables, I’m just not that commited.
    As for diaper bags.

    My suggestions:
    skip hop*- they are pricey but not as pricey as others .

    http://www.landofnod.com/family.aspx?c=71&f=1757 {this one is cool, attaches on stroller…maybe too small…so get the messager}

    http://www.landofnod.com/family.aspx?c=71&f=5160{I’m with Bethany Messagers are cool…and this one is cute}

    here is a link to the ju-ju bee ones Bethany was talking about.
    http://www.potterybarnkids.com/products/pack-a-be-diaper-backpack/?pkey=bdiaper-bags
    I {SHAMEFULLY} own this one, in the pink…I got a good deal on it at some random baby store when I was pregnant with Evan. I should send it to you if you want it! It is the backpack one, but they have the messager ones on that site.

    I’ve had this one…http://www.potterybarnkids.com/products/ultimate-diaper-bags/?pkey=bdiaper-bags \{well an older version of it Nice, but not that cute I guess…I think it would be last on my list}

    sorry for the long winded comment!!!
    SO excited for you guys!

  11. Bethany permalink
    April 16, 2010 1:04 pm

    I have the jujube beall. Not the backpack but messenger style one

    http://www.ju-ju-be.com/our_products.asp?prodid=beall

  12. Bethany permalink
    April 16, 2010 1:09 pm

    PS I do wish mine had a zip option under the flap of the main compartment. Sometimes I’m worried I’m gonna lose stuff when it’s full. I haven’t yet so maybe I shouldn’t worry but I do when I’m shlepping them all around an it’s getting knocked about.

  13. April 16, 2010 9:57 pm

    Thanks for all the suggestions, guys! Not sure if you’ve made my choices easier, or harder, though!! πŸ™‚ I’ll have fun checking out all the links!

  14. Mandie permalink
    April 18, 2010 9:02 pm

    My cloth diapering experience is still limited and has come in fits and starts. I am trying to get back on the cloth diapering wagon again now that I’m feeling more adjusted to motherhood and the daily routine. I gave it up for a bit because I got too overwhelmed with everything else.

    What I ended up with for the newborn stage were some prefolds and covers from http://www.greenmountaindiapers.com. These prefolds are nice. Friends of ours gave us some gerber brand prefolds that they had intended to use but never did; I can see why. They are stiff and I can’t see them being very absorbent. The ones from green mountain were soft and only get softer and more quilted with washing. I chose these for the newborn stage because it was a more economical way to get diapers sized for a new born. Even though the one sized pocket diapers (bumgenius, fuzzie bunz, etc) say they are from birth to potty training many of the reviews I read said that they were too big for the newborn stage. After actually seeing how small a new born is I tend to agree.

    The diaper covers that I have tried are:

    bummies super brite -I like these the best, I have used both the newborn and the small size.

    thursties duo wrap size 1 – these are my second favorite. They say they are adjustable from 6 – 18 lbs but I like them better now that he’s a little older, I think they were still too big on the smallest setting when he was a newborn. They seem in between the newborn and small size of the bummies super brite. These do have leg gussets and velcro closure which I like.

    bummies super snap – I got this in the newborn size and wish I had just gotten two of the super brite. The super brite has exposed PUL on the inside so you can just wipe it clean or let it air out and use it for multiple changes before it has to be washed. The super snap has a fabric layer over the PUL on the inside so it needs to be washed more often. Also, the super snap didn’t have leg gussets where the super brite did. Finally, the super snap waist closure was a snap and I found that I like the adjustability of a velcro close better. The super brite has a velcro close

    bummies wisper wrap – like the old fashion balloony rubber pants although a more breathable waterproof material. Since I was using snappies instead of diaper pins I found that I really needed a wrap cover to hold the diaper in place. This style was just too loose and I didn’t care for it at all.

    I could see doing the newborn stage with 2 dozen diapers and 4 diaper covers and washing every other day.

    Liam has outgrown the newborn diapers. I have a dozen size small diapers and 3 diaper covers that fit him now. I just got one each of bumgenius, happy heinies & fuzzie bunz – all one size – to try and see how I like them. I’ve just completed the pre-wash so haven’t gotten to test drive yet. There is a store in Hampden called Soft and Cozy baby, http://www.softandcozybaby.com, and she has all kinds of cloth diapers and is really helpful for answering questions. I’ll keep you posted on how I like these and if you’d like to take a look at anything that I have just let me know.

    • April 19, 2010 8:42 am

      Mandie, thanks for all this info!! You’re not the first person who’s said they prefer the prefolds for the newborn stage. Thanks for letting me know what you are using. AND, definitely let me know which of the one size diapers you like after you “test” them out!

  15. April 18, 2010 10:43 pm

    We used a diaper service. They gave us a diaper hamper with odor eliminator in the top. I dumped the diapers in there. They picked them up once a week and brought clean ones. It was cheaper than disposable diapers and it was a life-saver. I loved the service. This was 25 years ago in Atlanta, so I don’t know what might be available now.

    I love the Emily Dickinson quote in the side bar. I used it for a blog post several months ago.

    http://www.moonboatcafe.com/2009/12/hope.html

  16. Heather permalink
    April 20, 2010 9:06 am

    Hi Danielle!
    Iknow I don’t have a lot of mom experience under my belt, but I am using cloth diapers so I thought I’d let you know about our experience so far. We have been using BumGenius 3.0s, which are one size fits all, and really like them so far. No leaks, easy to use and they seem very comfortable for Andrew. I can’t speak to them being outgrown quickly, since Andrew is only 8 weeks old, but I did have to wait several weeks to begin using them because he was only 6lbs, 3 oz. at birth. So if you have smaller baby, you may need to use disposables for a few weeks if you go the BumGenius 3.0 route. We also have the BumGenius diaper sprayer that attaches to the toilet, and that has been a great investment, though I’ve heard that you can easily make one yourself.
    As far as a diaper bag, I have a hobo style bag from OiOi and love it. It comes with a changing mat, insulated bottle bag and wipes case and is large enough that I can just fit my regular purse inside it. I don’t know if you’ll find this helpful… just thought I’d weight in!

    • April 20, 2010 11:05 am

      Thanks Heather! Helpful indeed. I really like that bag (never heard of it) and the info on the diapers, as that’s a brand I’m considering. And congratulations on the birth of your baby boy!

  17. Laura Knoops permalink
    April 21, 2010 4:57 am

    Hi Danielle,
    I’ve been looking into cloth diapering too, but I don’t think I will really switch over. I just don’t think that I can handle all the extra laundry! I did a lot of researching, and I would have gone with FuzziBunz perfect size mediums…they can be worn from 6 months until potty training and they have snaps, which don’t wear out like velcro. I’ve would have also switched to cloth wipes too. ( Thirsty wipes.)
    Just to let you know, there’s a 15 % off sale at a company in Pennsylvania for the next couple days: http://www.happybabycompany.com/
    (They just started selling Sleepy Wraps too!) πŸ™‚
    Good luck with your preparations!

Leave a Reply

