Skip to content

One Day Apart

April 11, 2010

Being married to a worship music leader means I spend most Sunday mornings getting my family ready for church by myself. It means getting up extra early to do my devotions and be dressed before my twin toddler boys wake up. It means rushing to get them dressed and fed, gulp down my coffee, and make it to the car with boys in tow … if I’m lucky. Usually one of them makes a run for it and I end up chasing him around the car a few times before catching him and wrestling him into his car seat. It means trying to keep them from running down the aisle during the service to their daddy who’s on stage. By the time we get home from church for lunch, I’m wiped out.

Too often I view Sunday as just another busy day with a church service thrown into the mix. Too often I forget that God set apart the Sabbath as holy. Continue reading on Ungrind.org . . .

(Image: http://www.ungrind.org)

What ways do you set the Sabbath apart or seek to make it special? Please feel free to share . . .

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2010 6:30 pm

    I’ve long admired and prayed for you wives of worship leaders w/ young kiddos in tow. I think Sunday mornings are hard enough; to not have hubby to help would likely put me over the edge. I see much grace, though, Danielle, as you serve your husband and the entire church by carrying the less public, less glorious, less thanked task of getting your family to and through church. 🙂

  2. April 12, 2010 9:45 am

    Ditto what Briana said. I think most of us just don’t have a clue what it’s like to do what you do every Sunday. Please don’t be afraid to ask me for help.

  3. April 12, 2010 9:56 am

    PS I know that the sole purpose of writing this aricle was not solely to bring awareness to your situation as the harried mother of twins on a Sunday morning while your husband is on stage. Not at all. I did get much out of the whole article. I personally would not commit to family events on Sundays. I think meetings and family events on Sunday actually zap my energy and do not contribute to Sabbath rest. I try not to do any real “work”(physcial or schoolwork) from sundown Saturday to sundown Sunday, save for getting the family meals and basic dishes and tidying up. When I violate the sabbath rest, I suffer.

    • April 12, 2010 11:58 am

      I definitely wasn’t trying to gain sympathy points, I promise, ha ha! I merely wanted to use it as an illustration for a harried, non-peaceful Sunday. We all have those!

      Thanks for sharing, Zoanna, the ways you “keep” the Sabbath and what contributes to you resting. I agree that I don’t find that meetings or family events on Sunday to contribute to a peaceful Sabbath. Although at times we’ve found it necessary (i.e. Easter, Mother’s Day, etc.). I’d love to hear how others “keep” the Sabbath!

  4. April 12, 2010 12:16 pm

    Well done article Danielle and very timely for me since keeping the Sabbath has been challenging at times. But typically, my husband and I rarely make any commitments on Sunday (sometimes our Sabbath lands on Saturday).

    We try to put his school books down and have restful family time by doing something relaxing and fun things like go swim at the gym as a family or go to the park or read a spiritual growth book (outloud!) together. We did that in bed yesterday actually. I rarely get on email, twitter, or facebook on those days to refocus as well. I am definitely a “doer” so it takes a conscious effort to slow down and allow my heart to rest in the Lord.

    Tim Keller has an awesome sermon (or series) in his archives on the Sabbath. If you’re interested, let me know and I’ll refer the link.

    Thanks!

  5. April 12, 2010 1:31 pm

    Valuable info and excellent design you got here! I would like to thank you for giving your ideas and time into the stuff you post!! Thumbs up

  6. April 16, 2010 11:53 am

    I responded to your article on Ungrind, but I just wanted to comment here too. Thanks for the wonderful suggestions, from one single-Sunday worship mommy to another. 🙂

Leave a Reply

