Skip to content

Comforts from the Cross

March 10, 2010

I’d never read anything by Elyse Fitzpatrick, although I’d wanted to for a while. So when Comforts from the Cross: Celebrating the Gospel One Day at a Time came out, I thought that would be the perfect book to start with.

Arranged as 30-day readings, this little book is a gem. Each chapter is 2-3 pages long and would make a perfect devotional for someone short on time or as readings right before bed. I really was amazed at how Fitzpatrick could make familiar truths so fresh to me. I found her writing sparkling and engaging. Yes, I said sparkling. I definitely recommend checking it out!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 11:18 am

    Thanks for the recommendation. As a SAHM of 3.5 young children I find it so hard to get daily quiet times. This could come in handy. 🙂

    • March 10, 2010 2:11 pm

      Melissa, I hear you! Two other good titles that are short yet substantial reads are “Trust” and “Contentment” by Lydia Brownback. Have you heard of them?

  2. anne permalink
    March 10, 2010 10:03 pm

    GREAT Recommendation. Thank you!!
    Can’t wait to get this one!
    The Lydia Brownback ones are good too!

  3. March 11, 2010 7:36 am

    LOVE Elyse! I was in her care group for a short period of time in San Diego – and you want to talk about INTENSE accountability group….After YEARS of counseling…this woman’s wisdom is a GOLDMINE!

    Glad you like her stuff, Ironically, I’ve never read anything by her…although I know I should. 🙂

    • March 11, 2010 7:39 am

      That’s really cool, Melanie! Well, if you want to start reading any of her stuff, I’d say this one would be a good one to start with!

  4. March 11, 2010 10:03 am

    I’m reading this right now, and love it. She has another one called counsel from the cross that i can’t wait to get my hands on.

  5. Bethany permalink
    March 12, 2010 12:06 pm

    Love this one too. I have loved her writing since I was in college and went through her workbook for eating issues called more than bread. Her writing and books have had a major impact on my life. When I first moved to LA I met her at our church and felt speechless because of the impact unknown to her she has had on me. Great book…..all of hers are.

  6. March 12, 2010 3:03 pm

    i love books like these- and it’s always so priceless to get your hands on something that’s perfect for your right now.

    Megan

Trackbacks

  1. What I Read this Year: Non-Fiction « Dancing by the Light

Leave a Reply

