Skip to content

Sean Bolan’s

March 7, 2010

I’ve wanted to visit Sean Bolan’s for a long time. And it seriously took us way too long to make our way into it’s doors.

The always-packed Irish pub has long looked welcoming to me. That, and the fact I have a thing for Irish pubs. Must have something to do with my Scotch-Irish roots.

Anyway, it ended up being the type of place I like. Noisy, dark, packed with people, it had the feeling like everyone knew everyone else. Just like an Irish pub should feel like. We were seated upstairs at a little dark wooden table and quickly ordered the crab dip as an appetizer.

Wow. It was the best crab dip I’ve ever had in my life! And I’ve had a lot of crab dips. It was unbelievably creamy and full of subtle flavors. I could have eaten the whole thing as an entrée. Not a good idea.

Josh ordered the Fish and Chips because he’d always wanted to try some and this seemed to be the place to do that. I had a hard time deciding between the Irish Seafood Chowder and the Shepherd’s Pie and eventually went with the Shepherd’s Pie. The Shepherd’s Pie was incredibly hearty with tender chunks of lamb, beef and vegetables and full of flavor. Delicious!

I definitely will be returning! Still gotta try that Seafood Chowder . . .

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 7, 2010 5:57 pm

    My dh and I also have a thing for Irish pubs. Where is this one located?

  2. March 7, 2010 6:05 pm

    Was the crab dip full of crab? We ordered a crab dip down in Annapolis last weekend where one would think he could get a good crab dip. I thought it was awful. There was some crab sprinkled on top of a bowl of creamy, mayonaise-y dip. It was awful. Sean Bolan’s dip is better than that, I presume? I make my own crab dip and have that as the standard. We may have to try Sean Bolans…we haven’t done any restaurants up in Bel Air sadly. I like the idea of Irish pubs; it feels right for me but I’m Irish. LA feels a bit out of place. 🙂

  3. Bethany permalink
    March 7, 2010 7:48 pm

    HA HA. My hubby would love that. We have a favorite here….Lucky Baldwins. PS Aaron’s family is VERY Scottish.

  4. March 7, 2010 8:20 pm

    Tammy, the pub is in Bel Air, MD

    Briana, there was definitely crab meat in it, but I can’t remember how much. It was in a bread bowl with melted Swiss and Provolone cheese. I thought there may have been artichokes in it, but maybe not. A nice Old Bay flavor too. I’d get it a try and see what you think!

    Bethany, it sounds like our hubby’s have a lot in common. Both guitar-playing, construction building, know their way around the kitchen kind of guys. 🙂

  5. March 8, 2010 6:11 am

    That definitely sounds like a pub with real pub food (but truthfully, the food is probably better there than here!). Did Josh get mushy peas with his fish-n-chips?

    • March 8, 2010 7:38 am

      He didn’t have mushy peas, Rebecca, although I do know that’s a traditional paring w/ fish and chips. I wonder why?

  6. March 8, 2010 12:17 pm

    LOVE Irish pubs too. There is just something about them…
    We had an Irish dinner last night with friends. Soda bread, Shepards pie, Guinness …it was a fun meal!
    Last year I made a brisket, that was fun…it’s so funny that the last few years I’ve felt the need to make Irish meals.

    Glad you guys had a fun night out! 🙂

    • March 8, 2010 12:52 pm

      Anne, for St. Patty’s day I usually do brisket w/sauerkraut, mashed potatoes, green beans and soda bread. I look forward to it every year!!

  7. March 8, 2010 5:14 pm

    Danielle, I am tickled and surprised to read that you like noisy, dark, crowded pubs. That seems so unlike you, but hey, “ya learn something new every day.” We may give it a try; I’m sold on your recommendation of crab dip. The best I’ve had yet is Emily Connell’s. Often imitated, never duplicated:).

    • March 8, 2010 5:29 pm

      I like casual places full of character, and pubs have that. Not really a white table cloth kinda girl. But really, I don’t care if there’s a table cloth or not, as long as the food is good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

