Skip to content

Unwrapping New Life

February 22, 2010

On Saturday I had my long-awaited sonogram. It’s a surreal moment when the first visual of new life is seen on the screen. Suddenly, all the morning sickness, tiredness, and other symptoms that seem vaguely related to pregnancy find solid reality.

So this is what all that’s meant.

Despite the intellectual knowledge and having been through it all before, it never feels real until I finally see with my own eyes the new life I carry.

It’s strange to imagine that in a year this little life I’m just beginning to know will be about five months old. That he or she will have seemed to have always been part of our family.

I breathe a sigh of relief. One baby. I was nervous about more twins. Although I’d have welcomed them with open arms, I know the vast amount of work twins are (and yes, the vast amount of joy). But this time I was hoping for the blessing of one. To have the experience of focusing on one baby this time around.

I show Duncan and Owen the picture of Jones Baby #3 and they point at it.

“Baby!” they say, before running off to play.

Yes . . . a baby. Certainly, this is one special gift to unwrap today, and many days to come.

Just my contribution to Tuesdays Unwrapped with Chatting at the Sky . . .

24 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2010 10:58 pm

    Your sonogram photo brought tears and it’s not even my baby! I agree with you: it never seems real until you see that picture. I was nervous about having twins again as well. It was sweet to see just one baby in there…and so wonderful to not have to split your focus in those early newborn days. You’re gonna love that part. Congratulations on new life and sweet blessings.

  2. February 22, 2010 11:49 pm

    How sweet! Congratulations on the new life growing within!

  3. February 23, 2010 12:27 am

    this is so great! Congratulations! I am so excited for you.

  4. February 23, 2010 8:13 am

    I may be premature, but it looks kinda like a girl to me! I’m so excited for you!

  5. February 23, 2010 8:57 am

    So sweet!

  6. February 23, 2010 9:13 am

    So beautiful. There’s nothing like seeing that sweet form the first time, is there?

  7. February 23, 2010 9:14 am

    I’m almost in tears. I LOVE sono pictures. I love my preggo friends. I am grateful to get my “fix” through others for now. Praying for you and your precious little one today. love you, friend…and Jones baby #3, no matter the gender. πŸ™‚

  8. February 23, 2010 9:19 am

    (tears here as well). Thank you for allowing us to share in your joy of this precious, skillfully-made, Masterpiece of God.

  9. February 23, 2010 9:44 am

    So beautiful! What an amazing gift you are unwrapping today.

  10. February 23, 2010 9:45 am

    The miracle of life never ceases to amaze me! What a beautiful gift to unwrap! The best part? You’ll be unwrapping this gift over and over for the rest of your life.

    What a sweet blessing!

  11. February 23, 2010 10:02 am

    Now that IS a gift. You are right, oh so very right, to see it as such. And to have a little picture, a little hint of what lies within the wrappings. . . well, that’s another gift in itself!

    Congratulations!

  12. February 23, 2010 10:48 am

    A baby on a sonogram is always such a beautiful, beautiful sight. Thank you for sharing it! Brightened my day.

  13. Eileen Viars permalink
    February 23, 2010 11:19 am

    Congratulations on Baby #3. Hope things go well for you…

  14. February 23, 2010 12:59 pm

    congratulations. what a blessing babies are!

  15. February 23, 2010 1:39 pm

    Congratulations on your newest addition to the family.
    Blessings & Prayers to you all!

    Alyssa
    lifeoflyssie.com

  16. February 23, 2010 3:21 pm

    i’m sure it was a beautiful moment… to see that first photo of your new little one. and the one part- i’m glad for you that it is one πŸ™‚ i think i cried every time i heard that whirring heartbeat for the first time. very real… something solid, yes. happy tuesday!

  17. February 23, 2010 6:39 pm

    Congratulations! That is a true blessing to be unwrapped in due time!

  18. Caroline permalink
    February 23, 2010 8:46 pm

    This is such a sweet post. The sonogram image seals in the reality of the new life, a new beginning, such a blessing. Starting to feel a bit teary…

  19. February 23, 2010 10:00 pm

    Could there be a more precious gift? Happy for you. πŸ™‚

  20. February 23, 2010 10:26 pm

    Thanks everyone for your kind congratulations!

  21. February 23, 2010 10:58 pm

    Praise God from whom all blessings flow!!! It doesn’t matter whose sonogram I see, I cry at everyone of them..Life in its purest form! May you be richly blessed with a beautiful, healthy baby…( and rest of your pregnancy). Hugs!

  22. February 26, 2010 9:52 pm

    Taking a peek inside during the ultrasound and listening to the heartbeat at each check up are one of the most reassuring things ever. Congratulations and blessings on you and your family!

  23. February 27, 2010 11:15 pm

    and that is a very cute profile on your little baby πŸ™‚

  24. Bethany permalink
    March 5, 2010 2:23 am

    yay!!! Cutie

Leave a Reply

