Skip to content

Memory Making

February 11, 2010

One of the reasons I like Valentine’s Day so much is the memories my mom made with me and my siblings. And I admit, I’ve pretty much simply taken the traditions I grew up with as a kid and am now sharing them with my kiddos. I can’t say any of these ideas are my own creativity, but are simply inspired by the traditions my mom created for me.

Pancake Hearts
Every Valentine’s Day we knew we’d wake up to pancakes for breakfast made in the shape of hearts. Not all of them were that way, usually just the first one for each of us. Sometimes we’d have waffles instead. And they were often topped with whipped cream and pancakes. And, at each place setting our Valentine’s Day cards and goodies would await us. We’d bring our Valentines to the table as well and pass them out. It was a breakfast I always looked forward to each year.

Kid’s Tea
In the afternoon on Valentine’s Day my mom also would throw us a tea party. We all loved it, even my brother. It was a time for more sweet treats, so what was there not to love? We’d have real tea in our special tea cups, but you could also do hot chocolate for younger kids. Then we’d pull out our bag of Valentine’s Day treats and dig in, or indulge in heart-shaped sugar cookies we made earlier in the week. It was always a fun break from what would otherwise be a normal day.

These are memories and Valentine’s Day traditions I grew up with and am continuing with my kids.

What Valentine’s Day traditions do you share with your children, or remember from growing up?

If you need some more help, check Martha Stewart’s Valentine’s Day Crafts for Kids for some more ideas to inspire.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 11, 2010 11:47 am

    I am liking the pancake hearts idea. I’ve been wanting to do cookies, but we cut out sugar – I think I could do pancakes without sugar… Cool!

  2. February 11, 2010 8:27 pm

    My parents always gave us the sweetest cards and candy. My dad was so good about that, even after my mom got sick. Some years we’d wake up and the goodies would be on our places at the kitchen table. Sometimes in the bathroom on the sink, so we’d see it first thing in the morning, and sometimes on our pillows after we got home from school.

  3. Suzanne permalink
    February 12, 2010 12:31 pm

    My very best Valentine’s Day memory was so random. My parents were going to go out on a Valentine’s date, and so my siblings and I spent ALL day preparing a homemade valentine’s day party for our babysitter. We cut out and colored place cards, baked Valentine cookies (with mom) and created homemade Valentine cards.

    It snowed badly and my parents decided not to go out on their date. However, my dad went and picked up our babysitter (and paid her), so we could still have our party! 🙂 It’s a great memory and showed a great (if impractical) decision on the part of my parents.

Leave a Reply

