Skip to content

Treats for the Sweet

February 10, 2010

One of my very favorite things about Valentine’s Day is making fun treats. Whether it’s something elaborate and rich or simple sugar cookies to stick into cute baggies for the kids, Valentine’s Day gets my creative baking juices flowing! So get out your grocery lists and plan on making one of these treats for your sweets this Valentine’s Day.

Vanilla Dessert Sandwiches
I’ve already got my ingredients for these cookies. They sound fabulous! Can’t wait to make them later this week.

Vanilla-Sparkling Wine Pound Cake
If I wasn’t pregnant I’d be making this pound cake. It sounds intriguing! Vanilla and sparkling wine!?! How could you go wrong?

Meringue “Ice Cream” Cones
Are these adorable or what?


Chocolate Cloud Cake
I’ve posted this recipe before, but this is hands down my favorite chocolate cake ever. Ever! Nothing beats this rich, moist, Cointreau-flavored cake topped with billowy whipped cream.

What are your favorite Valentine’s Day treats?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 10, 2010 9:28 am

    I am so pooped out this year for V Day, sadly. 😦
    So, not sure that there’ll be much of anything tangible to lavish my love on all my sweeties. But, in the past, I like to do the simple heart pancakes for the kids, sugar cookie cutouts w/ the kids, and give them the good ol’ conversation hearts. My kiddos wouldn’t appreciate all the fancy stuff quite yet, so I’m not going to spend the time/energy on it just yet.
    THis year, it’s going to have to suffice to run to DUnkin Donuts for us all to enjoy a free donut together as a family. If we all get to be together as a family on Sunday, I will be thrilled.

  2. krista permalink
    February 10, 2010 9:32 am

    I want to eat your post! YUM!

    Thanks for the recipes…my only inspiration thus far was homemade soft pretzels with red cinnamon sugar. Now that we’re snowed in AGAIN the real issue will be to practice self-control with all the extra baking I’m bound to do!

  3. February 10, 2010 9:50 am

    Oh, those ice cream cones are so cute!

  4. February 10, 2010 7:23 pm

    Too cruel, Danielle – I have cut out sugar, and WOW, I am craving it… 😉 Do enjoy, though!

    Oh! And I just noticed! You joined HCB! Welcome, and all that!

    • February 11, 2010 8:06 am

      Thanks for the welcome, Kelly. I realized a good many of the blogs I was reading were already in the network, so it made sense to join.

      Sorry to tempt you. I do have a recipe for a sugarless cake somewhere. If I can dig it up, I’ll send it to you.

Leave a Reply

