Skip to content

Now We Are Five

January 28, 2010

At the first of the year I discovered some exciting news. Not only was it a fresh new year, but we also had a new life living among us. Yes, Duncan and Owen will have a new brother or sister joining us around the end of August or early September! We are very excited for a new little one to join our family!

Finding out I was pregnant explained my tiredness that I had attributed to the holidays and working hard on finishing various photography projects. The past month has been a bit rough, though. Nausea, getting sick, and hormonal headaches have accompanied an extreme tiredness that often leads me to the bed by 8:30 p.m.! I’m definitely more sick this time around than I was with the boys. My morning sickness with them was truly that. I only got sick once a morning during the first trimester with Duncan and Owen. I guess I just expected this time around to be the same, but some days feel fine all day and other days I may be sick multiple times including evenings. I’m so glad Josh has been home to help me on the evenings I’ve been too sick to even be in the kitchen, let alone make anything. I’m hopefully this nausea will end as I head into the 2nd trimester, which is only a month away.

I’m excited about a new baby, although nervous about caring for an infant along with my oh-so-very-energetic Duncan and Owen. But twin moms keep telling me if I have one, there’s nothing to it! I’ll be amazed at how easy it will be to care for one baby . . . so they say.

One, is the operative word. Since I’ve already had fraternal twins, my chances go up to have more. One statistic says I’m four times more likely to have twins than the average woman, if I’ve already had twins. Obviously, I’ve done it once and could do it again, but I’d really love to experience what it’s like to have one infant! I just think it would be so nice just to focus on one baby and be able to cuddle and put him/her in a sling without feeling like you’re neglecting the other one! So, you can imagine we’re itching to get that first sonogram and find out for sure if it’s one or more babies we’re talkin’ about!

Either way, it’s going to be an exciting and life changing year! We’re so thankful to God for this new gift of life!

And to go along with this new season of motherhood will be a new series of blog posts that I’ll be doing periodically entitled, With Child: Meditations on Motherhood in the Bible. Join me as I contemplate the lessons we can glean from the lives of mothers in scripture!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. taradphotography permalink
    January 28, 2010 8:45 pm

    That’s wonderful! So happy for you!

  2. January 28, 2010 8:55 pm

    Danielle,
    CONGRATULATIONS to you and Josh!
    {Such wonderful news for me to hear…it has been one of those weeks!}

    Do you think you will have a girl because you feel different?

    If it is twins again, I WILL laugh outloud…that would be crazy, but awesome.

    Congrats again. πŸ™‚
    HUGS to you friend!

    • January 28, 2010 9:06 pm

      Thanks! And Anne, I do hope to have a girl, I can’t help it. πŸ™‚ But I put no stock in those wives tales about how sick you are telling you what sex the baby is. Supposedly you’re supposed to be REALLY sick with twins and I wasn’t, so who knows!! But I’d love to have a girl!! And if I have twins again, you can come help! Then you won’t be laughing, lol!! πŸ˜‰

  3. January 28, 2010 9:00 pm

    happy news. congrats!

  4. January 28, 2010 9:02 pm

    yay.it’s finally public. πŸ™‚
    We’re thrilled for you guys and eagerly wait with you to find out one or two!

  5. January 28, 2010 9:23 pm

    So exciting! Congratulations! I’m praying for the morning sickness to go away quickly so you can enjoy the rest of it!

  6. January 28, 2010 9:41 pm

    Yay! Congratulations! As Darren says, the world always needs more Joneses.

    — SJ

  7. January 28, 2010 9:46 pm

    We are so excited for you guys – God is so good.
    Praying that He is continually your comfort through the sickness and tiredness, and so relieved it’s no longer a secret!

  8. January 28, 2010 10:12 pm

    so very happy for you and your family!

  9. zoanna permalink
    January 28, 2010 10:55 pm

    I’m thrilled for you all! When I read ,”One statistic says I’m four times more likely to have twins than the average woman, if I’ve already had twins” all I could think was, “Well, since you’re ABOVE average, guess you’ll have MORE than twins!” Teeheehee, just wanted to throw more excitement intot he mix (as if you need it).

  10. January 28, 2010 11:15 pm

    Woo Hoo! Great news!

  11. Janice permalink
    January 29, 2010 1:51 am

    I LOVE THIS!!! YAY for 5!!! Wooohoo! Will definitely add you to my “expectant moms” list! Praise God from whom all blessings flow!

  12. Amy Lee Rife permalink
    January 29, 2010 7:27 am

    Congratulations Josh and Danielle!

  13. January 29, 2010 9:00 am

    Hooray! Congrats to all of you!!

  14. January 29, 2010 9:04 am

    Oh Danielle – I’m so happy! I’ve been praying this for you lately! Thank you, thank you, thank you for sharing – you totally made my day!

  15. January 29, 2010 10:10 am

    yay πŸ™‚

  16. January 29, 2010 10:23 am

    Congrats, Danielle!!! I’m so excited for you!

  17. January 29, 2010 11:32 am

    awesome! excited for you! and looking forward to a new series of posts, too πŸ™‚

  18. Morgan permalink
    January 29, 2010 3:32 pm

    Congratulations! What exciting news!

  19. Sarah M. permalink
    January 29, 2010 10:33 pm

    I just NOW saw this. Congratulations! πŸ™‚ That’s very exciting news and I love the photo you used at the top of the post. πŸ™‚

  20. January 30, 2010 10:19 am

    Thanks again, everyone!!!

  21. Kristin permalink
    January 31, 2010 6:27 pm

    Wow! I’m out of the loop! Congratulations!! I hope you start feeling better! Maybe because you’re feeling worse on this one than with the boys, it mean you’re having a girl?? Oh wait….I’m sure it becomes annoying when people try to guess!!

  22. Bethany permalink
    January 31, 2010 9:01 pm

    I can’t believe I missed this!!!!! Well I have been busy shower planning soooooooo. I am so happy for you!!! So exciting. And if you have twins…..get the sleepy wrap I have. You can put two in it at a time. :). And if you have one it is great for holding the newborn and wrestling toddlers. Love ya and soooo happy for you

  23. February 1, 2010 2:14 pm

    I’m a little late to the party, but Congrats Danielle. I know we don’t know each other in person (we have this fun blogging/online writer friendship going on) but I am so thrilled for you.

    Every life is a gift. So glad God chose to give you another gift! Looking forward to the new series and how appropriate it will be. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

