Skip to content

Unwrapping Peace

January 26, 2010

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things. What you have learned and received and heard and seen in me—practice these things, and the God of peace will be with you.” Phil. 4:6-9

Peace, perfect peace. Peace that surpasses all understanding.

I can honestly say peace has been the theme of the past three months during my husband Josh’s unemployment. I can’t say peace has resulted because I’m super spiritual, or because I’ve even lifted “everything by prayer and supplication” to God like I’m supposed to. I fail at that time and again. But I have experienced supernatural peace. Enveloping me like a warm blanket, comforting me with rest and security. I have a solid Rock foundation that doesn’t quiver when tough times come. This peace has been a divine gift that has slowly been unwrapped before me. Each day I experience a new facet of this peace that I’ve never experienced before.

I’ve had the lyrics to a song from an excellent album I got for my kids running through my head lately.

“Peace, You give me peace
When the storms come and I’m afraid
Peace, You give me peace
When I trust in the words You say
You give me peace.

If You can calm the sea
Then You can comfort me
If winds obey Your voice
Why should I fear their noise
And though my eyes can’t see
I know You’re with me.”

Peace, you give me peace. Yes, it’s true.

Just my contribution to Tuesdays Unwrapped with Chatting at the Sky . . .

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2010 3:02 pm

    What a testimony to God of His kindness and mercy to give you such a gift, the gift of peace.
    I love that album, “To Be Like Jesus”. I need it as much (if not more) than my kiddos on most days.

  2. January 26, 2010 10:28 pm

    May peace continue to cover you while you are on this journey…

  3. January 26, 2010 11:10 pm

    amen!

    great album…simple but such great truths.

    love the photo.

  4. January 27, 2010 9:02 pm

    It’s so encouraging to hear that you’re experiencing peace- Jesus Christ who is our ultimate peace.

    We’ve experienced unemployment two times regarding my husband’s jobs and God always came through and showed us more about himself in those times. And of course today, we’re always trusting him because anything can happen in just a split second.

    Regardless,

    He is always good. Thanks, Danielle.

Trackbacks

  1. The God Who Provides « Dancing by the Light
  2. Crowded Kindness « Dancing by the Light
  3. Sacrifice of Thanksgiving « Dancing by the Light
  4. Sacrifice of Thanksgiving | Multitude Monday » Danielle Ayers Jones

Leave a Reply

