Skip to content

Farm Show

January 18, 2010

Last week we went to the Pennsylvania Farm Show. I grew up going every January but it had been some years since I’d last been there. I was very excited to take the boys on their first visit, knowing they’d love the animals and farm equipment. Here’s some shots from our little excursion.

I thought I’d snap a shot of this guy sleepin’.

These gals have decided to take a rest too.

An Alpaca that Duncan got to pet.

Farmer Duncan

I love the look Duncan is giving me.

I think the farm equipment (also known as “big cars”) were the biggest hit!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 12:18 pm

    it’s like a fair…in winter. interesting concept! so fun, too, for kids!

  2. January 19, 2010 3:45 pm

    I love the shot of the turkey’s beard and the alpaca. And, the shots of the guy and gals sleeping w/ their animals screams “farm fair”. LA encouraged me to take the kids up there this year, but it was too last minute for me to make it happen. I’d love to go w/ you next year if you decide to go..but, what is the deal w/ having it in Jan? That does seem odd, doesn’t it?

    • January 19, 2010 4:04 pm

      For some reason I’m thinking it’s in the winter because that’s kind of a farmer’s “downtime” in terms for crops. I don’t know if that’s true or not. But it’s kind of a big expo for farming, more so than fairs are. Lots of grain dealers, equipment dealers, etc. It’s in a huge indoor building that was built especially for the Farm Show in the 1930s and it’s pretty cool. They also use it for rodeos, concerts, and other stuff.

  3. January 20, 2010 11:18 am

    Man, Danielle – I’ve been thinking about you a lot over the last week or so, missing you, and I come over today to return a comment and I know why I’ve been missing you! I’m such a bum! I haven’t been reading many blogs lately, and I’m just getting around to returning incoming comments! I wish I had time this morning to leave more than this, but for now, here’s a “hey, I can’t wait to get back to reading!”

    *mutters something about subscribing so people’s posts get EMAILED to self…*

  4. January 21, 2010 4:26 pm

    My kids love going to the Nebraska State Fair…and I have to admit, I do, too. It’s the only time I allow myself to eat a corn dog — gosh I love those! Looks like you all had a great time! I love the pics of the girls sleeping with their cows. That’s a classic.

  5. January 25, 2010 9:37 am

    Really GREAT. Looks like an amazing time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

