Skip to content

Exploring

January 12, 2010

I love these pictures, as they capture the boys beginning to explore their world more and more. Sticks are now a major source of interest, as they poke the ground and rummage through leaves. They play among the brambles, creating little “secret” spaces for themselves, forgetting my watchful eye, making sure they stay safe on our property and wander where they shouldn’t go.

They remind me of myself. How I have always loved to ramble–alone–finding secret places to think and dream. Out in fresh air, feet muddy from trudging, eyes searching for beauty in forgotten places.

Oh, may I not forget how to explore! It’s a gift of childhood too often discarded for to-do lists and career building. But if I just stop for a minute and look around me, I too will find beauty in forgotten places: in muddy boots that mar the floor, in messily painted pictures, in little hands that cling.

What will you explore today?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 12, 2010 11:16 am

    love these. the inquisitive mind of a child is such a wonderful thing.

  2. January 12, 2010 2:49 pm

    Oh, I absolutely love this post..the pictures, the writing, the heart behind it. It resonates with my desires for my little guys…they aren’t as adventuresome and explorative as I wish they would be; that’s just too scary for them. hahaha…funny, but sadly true. We actually have to “work” on helping them be kids sometimes..not all the time (they’re plenty foolish at times). Anyway…love the post.

    I’ve got a bum foot today so I think I’ll be “exploring” homeschool philosophies by curling up with “Well Trained Minds” and a cup of tea.

  3. Bethany permalink
    January 13, 2010 1:39 pm

    Love these! The boys are getting so big. Kids off to co-op I’m gonna go explore a new supposedly healthy grocery store

  4. January 14, 2010 2:09 pm

    sweet, sweet photos.

    Boys are a treasure! My boys have been enjoying the snow! 🙂

  5. January 14, 2010 7:24 pm

    love how wrapped up in it they are!!

  6. January 15, 2010 9:43 pm

    they sure are handsome little men! I love your pictures, too. So great that you are able to capture them exploring like this! Now you have the documentation to match your memories.

Leave a Reply

