Skip to content

Recovering from Christmas

January 7, 2010

I’ve not been around blogosphere much. That’s because I’ve been recovering from Christmas.

Four Christmas gatherings, a NYE celebration at Libby’s, and one trip to Virginia made up our festivities this year. I’ve pretty much been exhausted and trying to get back into the swing of regular life in this new year.

I’m back to working on a new logo I can’t wait to show you and I have my first newborn session coming up next week. Josh is back to job searching and he does that with more tenacity than anyone else I’ve ever known. So thankful for how hard he works while not employed! I worked out a new schedule for the boys. I really needed some structure for their days now that Christmas is over to help move them from one activity to another so they don’t end up watching too many videos, (ahem). It amazes me at how short their attention span can be at times, unless it’s a video, of course!

But back to Christmas. The boys had an exciting time this Christmas, Oooing and Ahhhing at each gift. We were so blessed by the generous giving of others this Christmas to provide the boys with gifts to unwrap under the tree. My mom bought the boys a train table, Briana gave us tricycles, a friend sent us Amazon.com gift certificates, and my aunt gave us cash to buy gifts for the boys. We were so thankful for the thoughtfulness of these dear friends and family!

So here’s a few shots of our Christmas morning and the boys playing with all their loot . . .

Duncan checking out the storage space in the train table.

Looks like someone needs some coffee!

Duncan was in love with his new matchbox car, which has since disappeared.

Duncan concentrates so intently.

Remember Magna Doodles?

Love that sweet little Owen face.

I hope to be posting a bit more frequently in the coming weeks. I have a new writing project I hope to share with you all soon, so stay tuned for that.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. melodyejoy permalink
    January 7, 2010 6:25 pm

    Those were the Christmases I miss… Strawberry Shortcake dolls, My Little Pony, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles… Owen and Duncan look like they had a blast. Daddy looks like he needs a nap. I hope you’ve worked out good schedules for the boys — I think you need a rest 🙂 Blessings to you today, my friend! Melodye

  2. January 7, 2010 9:21 pm

    Isn’t it super fun watching them play so contentedly with all their new stuff! We felt we had the best Christmas yet with our kids in terms of taking sheer pleasure in their pleasure. We’re still trying to recover over here, too…though our life hasn’t/doesn’t provide much time to transition. We just jumped (were thrown) right into the new year. Depending greatly on HIS grace. Praying for you guys. Once you all get adjusted to your new routine, screw them up by dropping them off over here some morning to play w/ Bella…go grab some coffee and get some work done (or better yet, have a morning to yourself or with Josh for that matter). Let me know.

    • January 8, 2010 8:52 am

      I’ll take you up on that one morning, Briana, thanks! That would be so nice!

  3. Kjirstin permalink
    January 8, 2010 12:48 pm

    Such great shots as always Danielle! Glad you guys had an enjoyable Christmas, even amidst the chaos…ours felt the same way this year!

  4. January 8, 2010 2:40 pm

    i know how job hunting is!

    glad your Christmas was full and great!

    Megan

Leave a Reply

