Skip to content

Treasured: A Review

December 20, 2009

When I first picked up Treasured: Knowing God by the Things He Keeps, I didn’t know what to expect. I had never heard of the author, Leigh McLeroy. Glancing at the clichéd cover art, it looked like a wimpy feel-good woman’s book that might contain phrases like “Love yourself, because God thinks you’re special.”

Turning the book over and reading the description on the back wasn’t incredibly enlightening either: “God is a collector, too, whose treasures are tucked securely into the pages of His book: a golden bell here, an olive leaf there, a scarlet thread, a blood-stained cloth, a few grains of barley. Each of these saved artifacts reveal a facet of His heart and tells the story of a Father whose most precious possession is … us.” Hmmm. A golden bell? I wasn’t convinced I was going to like this book. You might say, I judged the book by it’s cover.

But I opened the cover and was delightfully surprised. (Click to read more . . .)

And to win a copy of Treasured, click here.

(Image: Ungrind.org)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. krista permalink
    December 21, 2009 9:56 am

    Thanks for the recommendation! I’ve been looking for a good book of this sort.

  2. December 21, 2009 3:41 pm

    compelling review! you totally nailed my first reaction to the cover 🙂 …and then after reading your review I went and added it to my wishlist…and ended up adding her other books, too, after seeing the titles and reading descriptions/reviews on Amazon!

Leave a Reply

