Skip to content

Canvas of Happiness

December 15, 2009

I had this old large canvas that was in the attic. I’d done a Rothko-esque painting on it for a wall in our apartment when we first got married. However, I dug it out of the attic last week and decided to do a project I’d seen over at Mt. Hope Chronicles. I absolutely loved the idea of her canvas of happiness, and decided to make one for myself.

It was easy. All you need is a canvas, paint, a brush, and a Sharpie.

I like the way it turned out and hung it in the dining room. Not quite as pretty as the one over at Mt. Hope. Her handwriting is way prettier than mine. But it reminds me of the things I love, and it’s an everyday reminder of the simple pleasures of life.

It’s just a little bit of lovely to brighten my day.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 11:56 pm

    Love it! Maybe I need to do something like that for our basement. The main room needs some cozying up!

  2. December 16, 2009 9:35 am

    What a great idea, love it!

  3. bethyoung permalink
    December 16, 2009 9:58 am

    I have one too but I wrote crooked and have to redo πŸ™‚

  4. December 16, 2009 11:08 am

    love it! i have a friend that did something similar, and to get the writing right- actually printed out the words on cheap computer paper, then placed the cheap paper over tissue paper and pressed down hard to trace the words, leaving an impression on the tissue- THEN, placed the tissue over the photo mat (that’s what she was working on, rather than canvas) and she traced over the impressed words on the tissue with a sharpie- which bled through well enough that then she could go over the words on the mat again to clean them up- whew! she actually liked the worn spotty look on the mats from soaking through the tissue so much she left it like that and just fixed up a few spots. amazing! (a lot of steps- but worth it for people who have “bad” handwriting! πŸ™‚

    Megan

  5. December 17, 2009 2:39 am

    don’t critique your handwriting – there is a reason I TYPE and PHOTOGRAPH everything… I will not be doing this canvas project until I can print something out I have put into Photoshop… πŸ˜› LOVE the color and the idea, though! It’s SO you!

  6. December 18, 2009 11:40 am

    really, really GREAT Danielle.

    πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

