Skip to content

The Good Ache

November 10, 2009

Fitness outside

Since Josh has been home more, since being laid off, I’ve had the opportunity to exercise–alone–in probably the first time since the boys were born. This is good, because I’ve not been so consistent in my exercise routine lately. I’m lucky to make it out once a week for a walk, let alone get some strength training in. The boys have gotten pretty heavy to push in their stroller on the gravel and hilly trails, not to mention they don’t particularly like being strapped in long enough for me to get a decent workout in. I would be good to take my own advice, but haven’t been.

But I’m now finding myself more and more free to go out for a walk on my own. And I’ve been even (gasp!) running a bit. Just a bit mind you.

I find it strange to be without the double stroller, to suddenly be able to move at full speed, unhindered.

It’s harder than I thought.

And so I find myself pavement pounding, lungs bursting, breath labored. Pushing myself to my limits and ever so slightly past. Stretching beyond my comfort I keep going, foot over foot. And I feel it: the good ache.

The ache proves I can go farther than I thought. That being stretched isn’t such a bad thing, painful as it can be at times. It is the process of being strained and tested. It’s uncomfortable yet strangely satisfying. Then, when it feels like I can’t go the proverbial next step, my muscles warm and limber. Breath finds it’s rhythm, feet seem to fly. I’ve moved beyond the ache. But the only way was through it.

There’s a gift to be found in the good ache, in the persevering running of my marked-out race:

Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. Consider him who endured such opposition from sinful men, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.  -Hebrews 12:1-3

Just my contribution to Tuesdays Unwrapped with Chatting at the Sky . . .

(Image: istockphoto.com)

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 10, 2009 8:07 am

    I’m a sort-of runner, too — and you describe that balance between pain and gain so well! I love how you linked it to the Hebrews passage. Nicely done!

  2. November 10, 2009 8:25 am

    oh, this is a good post – beautifully written!

  3. November 10, 2009 9:17 am

    There’s always a bit more in us than we realize. Stretching our limits is key to its discovery. Great post.

  4. November 10, 2009 10:23 am

    oh… stretching. it is so good for the soul… and for our confidence when we find that we can do more than we gave ourself credit for. i have been walking and looking for the perfect time to start kind-of runnign again. it just might be this week 🙂

  5. November 10, 2009 10:32 am

    oh this is good! You know I need this for Saturday!

  6. November 10, 2009 1:21 pm

    Oh I encourage you in this. It is a part of what makes me whole now. Sometimes I work up to long distances, sometimes not. But being outside, feeling empowered by my willpower, chatting with a partner, it is such a blessing.

  7. November 10, 2009 1:32 pm

    Beautifully written Danielle.

    “…being stretched isn’t such a bad thing, painful as it can be at times. It is the process of being strained and tested. It’s uncomfortable yet strangely satisfying. Then, when it feels like I can’t go the proverbial next step, my muscles warm and limber. Breath finds it’s rhythm, feet seem to fly. I’ve moved beyond the ache. But the only way was through it.”

    AMEN.

    I’ve always hated running, but I’ve been running too…and I have to do it in the dark, Justin doesn’t get home until after 6!

    Ever since I completed that 5k in September though, I don’t loathe it as much…I don’t love it mind you, but I can tolerate it. I’m doing another 5k on Thanksgiving {hoping to improve my time} and a girlfriend and I are going to try a 10k in March! YIKES!

  8. November 10, 2009 3:13 pm

    loved this.

    Megan

  9. November 10, 2009 4:18 pm

    so well expressed. This is a bit of why I LOVE running…so analogous to life, esp. our life in Christ. Glad you’re getting to experience it firsthand. Hope the weather remains lovely for you to get out and get your run on.

  10. November 10, 2009 10:49 pm

    “The good ache” – yes, exactly the metaphor for parenthood, for life, for faith. Thanks.

  11. November 10, 2009 10:58 pm

    Lovely!

  12. November 16, 2009 11:53 am

    This is beautiful! And inspiring.

  13. November 16, 2009 4:38 pm

    I agree with everyone…beautifully written.

Leave a Reply

