Skip to content

It’s starting to look a lot . . .

October 19, 2009

like autumn. I just love all everything about autumn: the wild wind, the changing leaves, baking with pumpkin and apples, and pulling out the sweaters and boots. And, as you may know if you’ve been reading this blog for a while (or know me), I love decorating with natural elements. Here’s my autumn decorations this year.

DSC_0020_2

My dining room table centerpiece.

DSC_0022_2

Leaves and gourds grace my little shelf by the backdoor.

DSC_0033_2

DSC_0001_2_2

“Tablescape” in the living room. That little twig pumpkin was something my mom picked up for me from the $1 section at Target a few years ago.

Potpourri

Love my vanilla scented potpourri.

DSC_0026_2

This really has nothing to do with autumn decor. But this basket used to hold music until I stained some old milk crates for that purpose instead. Decided this basket was too nice for just holding music. It now sits on my coffee table.

DSC_0032_2

Love my little lantern I got from Ikea a while back.

Don’t let autumn pass you by without bringing a little of it indoors to brighten your day. Now if I only had some warm apple cider  . . .

8 Comments leave one →
  1. krista permalink
    October 20, 2009 8:18 am

    Love it…you just gave me a few ideas!

    I think I may pull out my IKEA lantern (it’s silver) and see if I can spray paint it a dark brown or black and remove the panes.

    I’m also reminded of your “thankful leaves” post from last year. One of these sunshiny mornings I want to collect some pretty leaves with Natalia and dip them in some parafin.

  2. bethyoung permalink
    October 20, 2009 8:24 am

    Looks really beautiful!!!!

  3. bethyoung permalink
    October 20, 2009 8:25 am

    and I love the leaves in the mugs and saucers!

  4. October 20, 2009 10:57 am

    LOVE it.
    LOVE fall.
    And now, I’m REALLY craving some cider!! mmm…and chili.
    LOVE all your decor. I ALMOST bought that latern at IKEA last time I was there, and now I wish I would have…next time!
    That $1pumpkin rocks!! It’d be like what? $30 at Pottery Barn! What a steal!! YAY Mom!
    Also, LOVE the taper candles and holders next to it…VERY cool.

    GREAT job decorating…and bringing the outside in! 🙂

  5. October 20, 2009 12:58 pm

    Danielle, you have such a marvellous eye for decorating, no one would ever guess you house two little climbers! Teach me, Obi-wan…
    Yummy and easy apple “cider” = apple juice heated on the stove with a cinnamon stick. Yummy drink and yummy-smelling house in one go. Works for us, anyway.

  6. October 20, 2009 3:02 pm

    i really like the stacked tea cups, and the little leaf tucked in!!

    Megan

  7. Bethany permalink
    October 20, 2009 11:15 pm

    Love it!!! So pretty! I love fall too but I am such a mess this year. All I have is the pumpkins the kids picked up….Jude so thoughtfully adorned the fireplace with the mini ones and they look great….somehow the big pumpkin is under the dining room table on its side. I don’t even want to know they were probably playing soccer or something with it. That sums up my life lately all a bit chaotic. Hoping to be caught up enough to pull the Christmas decorations out. Right now it is all about survival.

    I am loving your lovely decorations though. I am gonna grab a coffee and sip it in front of the computer pretending I am in your lovely house adoring fall with you. Thanks for sharing.

    • October 21, 2009 6:50 am

      Bethany, wish you could come for coffee and visit for REAL! 🙂 But since you can’t, come for as many virtual visits as you want! 😉

Leave a Reply

