Skip to content

Blank Wall No Longer

September 29, 2009

Remember that blank wall I needed some inspiration for?

Well, talking to my mom one day over the phone she suddenly interrupted me with, “Hey, I’m in Wal-Mart and they have fern prints for $15!”

Can’t beat that! They’re from the Better Homes and Gardens line that Wal-Mart now sells. Never thought I’d discover fern prints at Wal-Mart, that’s for sure! But as you can see, they’re quite pretty!

DSC_0078

DSC_0076

Although they’re a bit small in scale for the wall, they work for now. Maybe I’ll create a collage with other “naturalia” prints, put up sconces by the windows, or arrange some tall grasses in a vase behind the TV. Not sure yet. What do you think?

Sorry the pics are a bit grainy. My “nice” lens is at the shop and my old lens can’t quite pull off getting good pics in the low light we have indoors.

DSC_0079

Anyway, I’m pretty excited to finally get some fern prints!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2009 8:46 am

    I love the prints and what a great price, too!

    I think that having them above the television and “facing” the corner isn’t the best place for them. It’s almost like you are showcasing the television. I have a hard time with anything above my television in the living room — I can’t figure out why. Like you, I don’t love having my t.v. out for show, but it is what it is!

    What about getting considerably larger frames (thinking black) with matting fit to the size of the print? Michael’s always has deals on large frames, nice ones too. I get the Sunday paper with the coupons if you don’t.

    Like you wrote above, it works for now but longterm I do think you should group them for sure. Maybe getting a long free standing shelf (a cream color) and leaning your prints on them there? And then adding a nick knack or two and some of your other prints that are of the outdoors, or family in the outdoors; etc. I see a little grass plant or cactus or something with a tiny glass dome lid over it πŸ™‚

    I think sconces and a vase with tall grass would look great. I just went outside and pulled a bunch of similar sized twigs and branches and de-leafed them and put them in a vase. Talk about a simple statement that costs nothing! I’m thinking of spray painting the twigs cream. You could always go for something like that maybe?

    Anyway, those are my ideas and I’m sure I could go on and on but that’s annoying πŸ™‚

    What a steal on those prints though, I love them!

  2. September 30, 2009 2:06 pm

    Beth, I love the idea of spray painting the twigs…very clever! I LOVE bringing outside in; absolutely my favorite way to decorate. This year, the kids and I went on an acorn hunt, got a ton of them which I used to fill up my PC trifle bowl with a fat, round cream candle in the middle of it. Simple, cheap and natural.

  3. September 30, 2009 7:27 pm

    I realized that my comment seemed like I didn’t like what you had done at all and I’m sorry for coming off that way! It was the decorator inside of me that was commenting πŸ™‚ I hope I still came across as helpful!

  4. October 1, 2009 7:58 am

    Beth, I love having your ideas! No worries! Actually, my goal is to get an armoire for the TV and move it to another wall, as soon as I find the right one! So I may just leave the wall as it is for now, with hopes of changing up how the room is organized in the next few months! That’s the goal, anyway!

Leave a Reply

