Skip to content

Total Well-Being

September 13, 2009

DSC_0002_2

Reading Numbers today, I was reminded how God longs to bless His people. I read the famous “priestly blessing.” How thankful I am to remember that God wants to “bless me and keep me; the Lord make his face shine upon me and be gracious to me; the Lord lift up his countenance upon me and give me peace.” – Num. 6:22-26.

One of the blessings God gives His people is peace. We Westerners often think of peace as simply “the lack of war.” It’s circumstantial. It’s an environment. However, in Hebrew the word for peace is “shalom,” which my ESV Study Bible notes explains, implies “total well-being.”

God doesn’t just desire there to be a lack of strife, war, and desolation. The absence of these things is not enough. God’s peace is more comprehensive than that. Instead, God desires me to have total well-being. A well-being that only He can ultimately give and that surpasses understanding. A well-being that doesn’t depend on how difficult my circumstances may be today or in the future. Whatever life’s struggles, I can meet them with a divine inner peace that is God’s blessing to me. A well-being that’s eternal.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2009 6:05 am

    Amen…great to read on a MONDAY morning .

    Thanks.

  2. September 14, 2009 9:27 am

    I love when God’s word is exposited. Thank you. It’s a great reminder and something I need to recognize on a daily basis. The “peace of God” is the only peace that truly comforts and gives hope and that is indeed a blessing.

  3. September 15, 2009 8:24 am

    Peace that passes understanding, peace we can’t manufacture, peace that says we are completely well even if our circumstances scream that we aren’t. Thank you for the invitation to rest…

Leave a Reply

