Skip to content

I’ve been making lots of this . . .

September 6, 2009

DSC_0065

Zucchini bread! Yum! Here’s the recipe I inherited from my mom. It’s soooo good.

Zucchini Nut Bread

Oven: 375 degrees

2 large eggs
1/2 Cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 Cup flour
1/2 Cup chopped nuts or raisins
1 Cup shredded zucchini
3/4 Cup sugar
1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. vanilla
1/2 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. baking powder

Mix everything and pour batter into a greased  8 1/2 x 2 1/1 inch bread pan or two 5 3/4 x 3 1/4 x 2 inch pans. Bake until knife inserted in center comes out clean. Bake 1 hour for large and 30 minutes for small.

Tip: You can measure and freeze shredded zucchini to make this bread later, if your garden produces more zucchini than you can use right now. You can also freeze the baked bread as well.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2009 8:16 am

    My question is: do you squeeze out the water when you shred your zucchini? I assume so.

  2. September 8, 2009 8:51 am

    No, I’ve never done that, Rebecca, if it’s fresh. I do drain it if I’m using zucchini that’s been frozen, though.

  3. September 8, 2009 9:51 am

    Ok.
    I LOOOOOVVVEEE Zucchini bread.
    So good.
    Thanks for this recipe that I will be trying later today!

  4. September 15, 2009 8:27 am

    I am LOVING the way your new template lets you show off your images!

  5. September 16, 2009 9:38 pm

    Danielle, I just made this recipe (with a few high altitude baking adjustments) using zucchini from our garden. It turned out delicious! Thanks so much for posting this recipe. I froze a bunch of shredded zucchini, so I’ll be referring back to this often. 🙂

Leave a Reply

