Skip to content

Dance by the Light of the Moon VII

August 31, 2009

After Pop-pop died from a heart attack at a horse race (he was the healthiest of all my grandparents, his death was a shock) Nanny had a lot of money she should have had her whole life.  She couldn’t live in the house by herself, so she moved into an apartment.  I was so happy Nanny could have nice things now, in her old age.  But Nanny got sicker and sicker.  She lost control of her bladder.  She didn’t sing anymore.

Nanny wouldn’t come live with us, even though Mom tried to get her to.  Mom says she wished she’d made her come anyway.  Finally she had to go into a nursing home for a while.  She had a view out of the window and pictures and flowers, but she was bitter.  I didn’t like visiting her there.  The smell of the nursing home nauseated me and Nanny hardly talked.  Her strength ran out, she hated it there.  She didn’t stay long.

I was curling my hair getting ready for a birthday party when the phone call came.  My sister ran to my room yelling, “Come quick!”  We ran downstairs.  My mom was sobbing on the phone, standing by the ironing board.

*

Whenever we’d leave Nanny’s house, she’d whisper important things in my ear, just for me.  I wish I remembered what they were, but they were special.  It’s really not important I don’t know what they were, the fact that she made sure I know I was loved and was special is all that matters.  As we’d drive out of the gravel lane she’d run behind the car, throwing kisses with her hands, her dress fluttering . . . dancing.


Please let me know what you thought about this series. Since this was a departure for my blog, I’d love to know if it’s something you enjoyed or not.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Josh permalink
    August 31, 2009 8:07 am

    Loved reading it again lovie! Keep the stories coming 🙂

  2. zoanna permalink
    August 31, 2009 8:20 am

    To be perfectly honest, your memoirs are what I MOST love reading on your blog. Truly engaging. Nothing beats a great autobiography. Please write more, pretty please! You’ve inspreid me to visit my own Memory Lane more often, so thank you!

  3. August 31, 2009 9:55 am

    I thought it was great! would love to read more stuff like this.

  4. August 31, 2009 10:15 am

    I love your blog normally anyway, but this little series has been a delightful departure! I’d love to see more of this type of writing here. It’s a whole new window into your world and your heart!

  5. August 31, 2009 2:44 pm

    Thanks guys!

  6. anne permalink
    August 31, 2009 8:35 pm

    It is FABULOUS Danielle…I’ve been enjoying it as well.

  7. Amy Lee Rife permalink
    September 1, 2009 6:20 am

    very touching, I could see your Nana! I loved it.

  8. bethyoung permalink
    September 1, 2009 3:13 pm

    me too, I’ve been coming back to read them. I’ve been really bad about reading blogs and commenting lately but I haven’t forgotten about yours. This was great. Your Nanny sounds she was a fantastic person.

  9. September 1, 2009 9:25 pm

    I liked it a lot, too…esp. b/c it was about you and your family. I don’t tend to give a lot of time to fiction. I liked that you wrote it in very small snippets for us to read quickly each day.

  10. September 5, 2009 11:31 am

    Those were beautiful. I can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

