Skip to content

Dance by the Light of the Moon VI

August 30, 2009

I have a vivid image of Nanny that’s all imaginary.  It’s based on a story she told me that happened in her old age.  She was chatting with a lady in a drug store when I was with her once and I asked how she knew the lady.  Nanny told me the following:

“I was buying medicine one day when this young man came in.  He didn’t have a shirt on, and the sign on the door says not to come in unless you have shirt and shoes on.  That lady I was talking to asked him nicely to go put a shirt on.  He gave her a bunch of lip and wouldn’t do it.  She continued to insist that he put a shirt on or they wouldn’t serve him, and he raised his hand like he was going to hit her.  I pointed my finger at him and shouted, ‘In the name of Jesus Christ leave that girl alone!’ and he looked at me for a moment and ran out the door.”  She laughs heartily, proudly.  “That’s why that lady always talks to me.”

I visualize the scene:  A wide-eyed, blond haired teenager staring frightened at my grandmother.  Her fingers are long and bony, her eyes hard, her voice commanding.  I laugh too.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. zoanna permalink
    August 30, 2009 8:30 pm

    Oh, boy, I think your Nanny and my Granny were twins. Was she tall? (I forget if you’ve said this already). Granny was 5″10 with long, bony fingers, hard eyes,
    commanding voice–and a flair for the dramatic.

  2. August 31, 2009 6:47 am

    lol – that is so something I would think to do myself… Maybe when I grow up, I’ll actually pull it. 😉

Leave a Reply

