Skip to content

Dance by the Light of the Moon IV

August 28, 2009

I begged her to teach me how to crochet.  I learned a few stitches but never made anything of use.  She made beautifully intricate table clothes, sweaters, booties, and afghans.  She made half of my mom’s clothes when she was a teenager, because they never had any money, and because my mom liked to wear things that were different. “She never needed a pattern, just like she never needed a cookbook,” Mom tells me.  “She could just visualize the way she wanted it to look.”

In the stacks of pictures I find ones of my mom when she was nineteen or twenty and modeling.  She wears a crotched dress Nanny made and has thick, long, straight black hair.  In other pictures she wears wide-legged pants with big belts or sundresses.  There’s an article about her cut out from the newspaper, faded and yellow around the edges.  I can’t imagine my mother modeling.  She doesn’t wear make-up except to dress up, and dislikes getting up in front of people. She never went to New York City like the article said she wanted to.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2009 12:47 pm

    is this your life b/c I could totally see your mom as a model…she’s a strikingly beautiful woman as are you and your sibs.

  2. August 28, 2009 12:57 pm

    Yes, it’s a little memoir about my grandmother. Thanks for the complement, I’ll pass it on to her . . . 🙂

Leave a Reply

