Skip to content

Dance by the Light of the Moon: A Prelude

August 24, 2009

When I first started this blog, way back in 2005, I wrote my very first post to explain the inspiration for it’s title, Dance by the Light. The title has come to represent multiple things to me over the years. In the upcoming days, I’ll be sharing in installments the memoir I wrote—a long time ago now—that served as the inspiration for this blog’s title.

I hope you enjoy.

***********************************

The house is empty now.  The daffodils have been bulldozed.  Paint has been peeling off the green shutters for as long as I can remember, but now they hang on their hinges.  The house was never beautiful; it was always in desperate need of repair.  Aesthetically speaking, the house was downright ugly.  But it holds so many memories for me.  I stand across from the house on the other side of the road in the graveyard; the graveyard she spent half of her life living across from and now she lies beneath the soft earth, with a headstone of her own.  I used to play on other people’s headstones when I was little, looking at half lichen-covered pictures and trying to read vanishing words.

The house looks sad now.  But I remember when I couldn’t wait to reach it.  When it held expectation, mystery, laughter, and beauty.

It wasn’t that long ago.  I remember . . .

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 24, 2009 3:05 pm

    I’m going to enjoy this series of posts, I just know it… I love your writing!

  2. August 24, 2009 4:18 pm

    who is the “She”?

  3. August 24, 2009 4:52 pm

    You’ll find out . . .

  4. August 25, 2009 8:07 am

    this sounds like a great series–looking forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

