Skip to content

New Every Morning

August 13, 2009

It’s quiet now, and cool. Eyes are heavy with tiredness and puffy after tears. Baths complete, grocery list done, coffee made for the morning.

It’s been one of those days. You know the kind. It started out well enough, but degenerated slowly into chaos. Nothing traumatic in itself, but taken all together–all at once–I felt myself unravel. Patience strewn on the floor. A half slept nap due to diapers being taken off and poop in the bed (well, that explains why he wasn’t sleeping, there wasn’t much clean space left for that). The flame not staying lit in the grill and dinner barely getting cooked. The break into our bedroom while I was out fooling with the grill, resulting in pictures being drawn on our quilt . . . again. They used their washable markers, but I’d already just washed out the highlighter that morning. My boys looked like Indians because they drew all over bodies too.

The evening stretched long but ended with cuddles on the couch and a quiet reading of books. Wet toddler kisses and bedtime songs. It’s always worth the chaos.

And I’m thankful for mercies, new in the morning.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2009 2:48 am

    totally wonderful post!

  2. August 15, 2009 5:04 am

    I admire your courage to end the day with them. I have to confess, after a day like that, I’d hand Pip over to Pete and go to my room to read by myself for a while, pray for those morning mercies to get here sooner.

    Thought you’d appreciate this post: http://www.moonboatcafe.com/2009/08/strength-of-love.html

    • August 15, 2009 1:06 pm

      Thanks for the link, Kelly. I had no choice to hand the boys over to anyone, that day, part of why it was so long. Josh had a chance to get in to see a physical therapist last minute so went there after work, came home for a bite to eat, then back out for worship team meeting at church. It was a long one, glad it’s over!

  3. August 15, 2009 11:13 am

    I am sorry that your day was hard. You are so very blessed to have Jesus for perspective. We were not saved when our kids were that young. I would not respond very lovingly to them or Mike. I remember crying my self to sleep many nights with no hope. Thank You Lord that I now have hope in him…

  4. melodyejoy permalink
    August 15, 2009 11:49 am

    Morning mercies… I claim them and thank God for them 🙂

  5. August 15, 2009 6:56 pm

    That so aptly describes many young mommas’ days….varying circumstances, but the sentiment is the same…long, wearying days at times. Donna is so right to point out how blessed we are to have the hope of Christ. And, I also commend you for ending the day sweetly with your children. Don’t know that (even w/ the indwelling Holy Spirit) I would have made the same choices over here. 😉

  6. August 15, 2009 8:34 pm

    It’s comforting to know I’m not the only one having these kinds of days. Thank you, God, that Your mercies are indeed new every morning!

Leave a Reply

