Skip to content

A little bit of lovely

July 19, 2009

I’ve been enjoying two recently purchased items that have been adding “a little bit of lovely” into my life.

DSC_0006

The first is the Bodum Chambord Milk Frother. I first had coffee with froth made from the Bodum frother when I was in California. It made foam just as perfectly as a latte from Starbucks. I bought one a few months ago with birthday money and have been enjoying making warm mugs of frothy coffee ever since.

The second is my new Nikon 50 mm f/ 1.4 lens. I’ve been frustrated with my kit lens and not getting the results I wanted from it. With three photo shoots coming up, it seemed to be the perfect time to purchase a new lens. After much research, talking to other photographers, and looking at other photos I like, I settled on the Nikon 50 mm f/ 1.4. I was so excited as I snapped my first picture!

DSC_0001

I was in love! And not just with Josh!

DSC_0008

I’m so happy with the result and am so glad this was the lens I chose. Here are a few of my first snaps with it.

DSC_0030

Finally, I get the result I want indoors in low light. I wish you could have seen how dark this shot actually was! My old lens couldn’t even focus in such lighting! I love how fast and sharp it is! Perfect for toddlers on the run!

DSC_0032

Then Josh had some fun with it too.

DSC_0085

DSC_0099

What’s been adding a little bit of loveliness into your life these days?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2009 7:36 am

    I love the shot of one of your boys w/ wet hair. I’ll have to stop over sometime for a frothy coffee. πŸ™‚
    This morning, my “little bit of lovely” (love the phrase) was a piece of multi grain bread (something I haven’t had for two weeks).
    Recently, my “little bit of lovely” is being about 4 lbs. lighter from doing Phase 1 of SB.
    Sat, our little bit of lovely was “the farm”. We love going to the Neumanns. It is a slice of Heaven for me to be out there.

  2. July 20, 2009 8:13 am

    I bought Pete a french press for Christmas (and bought a replacement press for Father’s Day, after the Christmas press broke!), and he just LOVES it – it’s so much better than the coffee-maker coffee! That milk frother looks like something I should check out for me – Pete doesn’t often have milk in his coffee, but I always add milk!

    That lens looks like fun! It sounds very similar to the wedding lens I have – a wide lens that does well in low light! Have so much fun with it, k?

  3. July 20, 2009 10:23 am

    You’re welcome to come over for frothy coffee anytime, Briana. Kelly, french presses are the best! A french press and a frother are all you need for lattes just as good as Starbucks, plus a little vanilla syrup . . . πŸ™‚

  4. July 20, 2009 10:24 am

    We have a similar lens for our Nikon and I LOVE it! So glad you were able to get one.

  5. bethyoung permalink
    July 20, 2009 11:39 am

    Those are great pics! Thanks for not posting the full on nude shot of Josh. Kidding! Anyway, my little bit of lovely has been holding my newborn instead of laying him down to sleep πŸ™‚ And also the iced coffee recipe that you posted on Twitter that was actually Bethany’s recipe! That has been awesome!

  6. July 20, 2009 1:39 pm

    Oh I am so happy you got it Danielle. You will love it and have so much fun with it. My fav lens here

  7. zoanna permalink
    July 20, 2009 2:19 pm

    I will definitely check out that lens. I’m not crazy about my kit lens, but I’m not quite as good with the camera as you are, either. My little bit of lovely (nice phrase, I agree) was this past weekend spent with our lovely daughter in PA and the lovely B&B Paul and I stayed at.

  8. July 21, 2009 9:16 am

    A new lens! FUN! πŸ™‚

    LOVE LOVE LOVE the frother too. I have a nice hand frother I use that I got a steal on at Williams Sonoma awhile back, and it has been worth EVERY penny. It really DOES enhance the coffee “experience” and I’m less inclined to go to the Bucks πŸ™‚

  9. July 22, 2009 10:24 am

    Love that lens too. I hope you have fun with it. Your pics were already beautiful without it…I can only imagine what this will do for your future shots:)

  10. July 22, 2009 10:36 am

    Little Bit of Lovely?

    Not planning/being part of a wedding, going to a movie and Washington DC with my husband this weekend…I love DC! But more than that, I loved a whole day with my husband! That NEVER happens.

    Danielle – your sons are the cutest!

  11. July 22, 2009 11:56 am

    Thanks for the kind word Emily about my photos, and Mealnie, about my boys. Glad you had a fun day with Bill, Melanie! DC is always a favorite place of mine to go too!

  12. July 22, 2009 1:14 pm

    don’t know WHAT we’d do without our frother and french press. )pete would add his expresso pot to that list.)

    any recommendation for a novice who wants a good camera? ours just died and i’m so tired of dark, fuzzy pics.

Leave a Reply

