Skip to content

Roast Chicken with Balsamic Peaches

July 16, 2009

DSC_0037

Last night I made roast chicken with balsamic peaches. I’d almost thrown the recipe away, thinking I’d never make it, because Josh isn’t a big fan of fruit with meat. However, with peaches now in season, I thought I’d give it a try anyway.

Wow, am I glad I did!

It was enough like regular roast chicken to be comfortably familiar, but the peaches and balsamic vinegar gave it subtle flavor that made it different enough to be noticeable. Pan juices spooned on the tender chicken were to die for!

I got this recipe from Real Simple. You must give it a try.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2009 8:42 pm

    thanks for posting this! I tried it the other night and liked it enough to try it again, though with some tweaks. I wanted MORE shallots–I’d never bought or eaten them before and they were so yummy! And I also wanted it to taste more peachy. I think next time I might add some peach juice (like white grape peach? I love that stuff anyway) and also might wait and add the peaches only at the very end–so they get cooked, but still taste peachy and don’t just absorb all the other flavors. I did do it in the crockpot–I wonder how much that affected everything. Anyway, definitely went into my cookbook to make again!

  2. July 29, 2009 8:44 pm

    oh, and that picture looks straight out of a magazine! you are rocking your new fifty!

  3. July 30, 2009 2:32 pm

    I’m glad you liked it! I wouldn’t have minded it “more peachy” either, but I don’t think Josh would. But I love shallots too. I’ve not cooked with them a lot, but they have such a wonderful flavor!

Leave a Reply

