Skip to content

I need some inspiration . . .

July 16, 2009

DSC_0012

So, I’ve got these corner walls in my living room that I’m trying to figure out what to do with. It’s really the last area of my house left to decorate. I’ve had lots of ideas but can’t settle on anything. First I wanted to hang a whole bunch of botanical fern prints but couldn’t find any for a decent price. Nor could I find an old book or calendar with fern prints to tear out and frame either. So then I had other ideas: multiple mirrors of different shapes, architectural elements like window frames, or a canvas collage but I can’t think of what to paint on it.

I’d like something that works with both walls to bring them together as a kind of unit. I’d also like to do something other than photography, because my house is filled with photos. Actually, this picture is a bit old and I now have a black and white wedding picture hanging over that chair.

But basically, I need some good ideas. What would look good on those corner walls? Or maybe we should just do more shelves (in our little house more storage is always a good idea). Let the ideas flow . . .

20 Comments leave one →
  1. July 16, 2009 9:18 pm

    I would put up some of your pictures! You’ve taken some lovely ones!!! You could also easily change it later.

  2. zoanna permalink
    July 16, 2009 9:21 pm

    I need inspiration for my family room. I’m stuck and we are ready for a major overhaul (fiurniture, carpet) now that Joel is not in that “woospy daisy” spill everything stage.

    Hmm.. first thing that came to mind for your room is a tree or tall branching plant that spills out on both sides, with a botanical print on each wall. Something tall at any rate, or at least giving a vertical dimensional . Or a tall, staggered plant stand? Is your
    TV stand still there? If not, any place for a decorated screen (I’m sure Josh could build one and you paint either a montage or mural on it). Personally I am not a fan of multiple mirrors, probably because it was SO overdone in the 80s. Everyone with a small house put humongous tacky mirrors on one wall to visually double their space, but it visually doubled the clutter or bad decor:). Sorry, the 70s and 80s left me scarred for life. Seashells, lava lamps, mirrors, beads hanging from the ceiling. I wish I could just get over it:). Anyway, I’m sure you’ll come up with something wonderful.

  3. July 16, 2009 9:30 pm

    if you wanted to do a botanical print, you might want to check out this site: http://vintageprintable.com/wordpress/

    i haven’t had the time to look through it, but what little i saw looked great.

  4. July 17, 2009 6:09 am

    I think I would probably try a series of black or white-framed images spaced over the two walls on that corner, maybe five or six. I bought the cutest postcards in DC one year to put up over our piano in black frames; you can imagine, the price was minimal. Also, you could just frame some pictures you designed and printed – your eye matches your decor really well…

  5. bethyoung permalink
    July 17, 2009 8:32 am

    I was going to say something similar to Zoanna. You should for sure have something with height. Faux Forsythia or long stems of flowers/greenery looks really pretty.

    The multiple mirrors is an AWESOME idea. Zoanna is probably thinking of that 80’s flat mirror style just hung vertically or something. These would be mirrors with framing. So are plates! Look for some inspiration at nestingplace.blogspot.com, she has a wall that has plates hung and they look great. Simple pieces, nothing special really. Check out her post on painting “knotty pine” to see the plates she has hung. That would look so nice. I have a mirror that I’m not using that I got at a thrift shop that I can’t find a place for. It’s really pretty (small) and would look nice as a starter piece, but needs things grouped around it. It’s an antiquy looking off white oval shaped mirror with great detail.

    Several pieces of your photography hung in different sized frames (several in oval) hung with ribbon or string looks really cute. I think I saw that in my Woman’s Day mag.

    I’ll be thinking of more ideas 🙂

  6. laurie permalink
    July 17, 2009 8:55 am

    love your wall color. love the mirror idea.

  7. July 17, 2009 2:13 pm

    I’m thinking something more earthy than mirrors for you. But, maybe you feel you have enough earthy-ness elsewhere?
    too bad you can’t find those fern prints for a good price. I like that idea a lot. I also like the canvas prints…why don’t you hang some of your paintings? Do you have many of those up elsewhere in your house? I’m thinking something green to draw in some color, picked up w/ your cd holders and pillows on that arm chair.
    I’ve seen these frames at BB&Beyond or Target that you can’t change out the photos easily. I forget what they’re called, but you could get a couple of them and change out photos to go with the season or holiday. I like having one spot in my house where I keep the decor season or holiday relevant…keeps things fresh and fun, I think.
    My hubby always tells me not to settle, though, just to have something up or done. I can tend to get impatient and just go w/ something b/c I can’t execute or find or afford what I really want. I like his advice, though, and would offer it to you.

  8. July 17, 2009 4:03 pm

    Whoa…you have gotten some good ideas.
    The only thing I would add…and something I’ve been WAYYY into…
    are hanging little votives or laterns, or whatever you find. I’ve added these (in sets of three of whatever) in various corners and windows.
    http://www.anthropologie.com/anthro/catalog/productdetail.jsp?id=960021&parentid=HOME-CANDLE&pushId=HOME-CANDLE&popId=HOME&sortProperties=&navCount=145&navAction=top&fromCategoryPage=true&selectedProductSize=&selectedProductSize1=&color=grn&colorName=GREEN

  9. July 17, 2009 5:12 pm

    Thanks for all your ideas! I want to stay away from photography for now, because I have tons of prints of my own work everywhere else (bedrooms, hallways, even in the other walls of the living room). I’ll have to think about these ideas and see what direction to go. I’m also going to look for some salvage architectural pieces at my mom’s and see if I come up with anything. However, Josh is absolutely opposed to plates being hung!! We usually agree about decorating/design ideas, but he’s not liking that one, sadly, because I like the look. Anyway, I’ll let you know when I come up with something!!

  10. Nicole Hammond permalink
    July 17, 2009 5:20 pm

    When my sister moved to Baton Rouge, one of the things she longed for was leaves, in fall colors. So, Andrea and I gathered some and sent them to her. She pressed them in the microwave (got directions online) and then matted and framed them. you could do the same w/some pressing from your own garden. You could even do pressings of things during all four seasons and then rotate them out during the year. I think that would be prettier and much more personal than botanical prints (and much less expensive:)

  11. Alison permalink
    July 17, 2009 6:25 pm

    I love your room. The colors you have in there are so clean and crisp looking, yet still cozy. I put black mantle shelves in my living room on one wall with items like a clock, pottery, etc on them. On the other wall I put black metal candle sconces. I also love using artifical plants to help soften a space. Whatever you end up doing, I’m sure it will look lovely. 🙂

  12. July 18, 2009 7:39 am

    Ooo, like that idea, Nicole!

  13. July 20, 2009 7:39 am

    I love those candles that Anne linked to. But, then again, can you ever go wrong w/ Anthropologie? I love that store.

  14. July 20, 2009 1:44 pm

    What about tall willow or birch branches. It does look like you need some height with your tv thing being so low. Hmmmm. I am sure whatever you decide on will be lovely

  15. bethyoung permalink
    July 20, 2009 9:17 pm

    the tall willow or birch branches is kind of what I was thinking, too….Josh doesn’t even like this look here?

    http://nestingplacenc.blogspot.com/2009/07/price-my-space-living-room-part-2.html

    Sorry, I left out the “nc” in the blog address before…

    • July 20, 2009 9:30 pm

      I still found the post, Beth. I like it, but Josh wasn’t keen on it. Branches would be cool though, and very much like me. I’ll have to look into finding some birch trees . . .

  16. bethyoung permalink
    July 22, 2009 10:55 am

    And I love the look of your slip covered couches in off white. I would so love to have a white or cream sofa. Won’t work with my family now, or at least with the beast we call Jabba 🙂

  17. July 22, 2009 11:30 pm

    Beth is right. When someone says “decorating with mirrors” I immediately have flashbacks like acid reflux. I very much DO like
    several small or medium (or varied mixed sizes) FRAMED and grouped artistically, or one large lovely mirror FRAMED where it reflects something pretty from elsehwhere in the room. To quote Jim C, “don’t hear what I’m not saying,” What I AM sayiing is the 80s was unbeatable for love songs but –gag me with a beribboned goose–TERRIBLE for decorating schemes. Bottom line: follow yhour instincts. You’ve got the knack.

  18. August 7, 2009 1:12 pm

    It’s been a little while now. Have you decided on something you like?

Trackbacks

  1. Blank Wall No Longer « Dance by the Light

Leave a Reply

