Skip to content

Journaling: A Holy Experience

June 24, 2009

Twitter, Facebook, blogs, text messages. There’s lots of options for communicating these days. But there’s one I still like best: journaling.

Pen on paper. A beautiful book, blank and waiting to be filled with thoughts and memories. I love the anticipation of picking a new book to be my journal and wondering what moments I’ll choose to record in it. I love the texture of the paper, the meditative process of writing by hand.

I guess I’ve always been obsessed with journals because I’ve always been obsessed with writing. I remember when I was young sitting on a porch swing in Tennessee at the end of the day, dictating to my mom as she wrote my words down in my “journal.” My mom had me do that as a way to help me learn how to write for myself.

My first journal was a Little House on the Prairie journal with quotes and pictures from the books interspersed throughout it’s pages. I remember the thrill of having my first real journal. Over the years I’ve had some journals designated for quotes I discovered, devotions, or my daily life. Now I just keep one that holds everything: any recording of daily life, plus my time spent with the Lord in the morning.

Over at Holy Experience there’s been a fabulous series on journaling. What the author describes as her process of spiritual journaling is pretty much the same that I do each morning, curled up on the couch, coffee on the table nearby.

Do you journal? If so, what do you record in yours? Why don’t you take a photo of your journal and come back here and leave a comment telling us where to find it . . .

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2009 9:49 am

    Gosh, Danielle – I probably filled ten journals over the space of three years or so between leaving home and marrying Pete! I just don’t have anything to write there anymore! I think the blank pages intimidate me; I want what I write there to be meaningful, something I won’t read later and think, “WHAT was I thinking??? That sounds so pretentious!” I think it is good for me, though, because it is bringing God off paper for me and into the realm of reality. I suspect I may start journaling again sometime, but for now, I guess I’ll be content with missing it until it opens up for me again!

    Love the bottom photo, btw – beautiful dof!

    • June 25, 2009 10:12 am

      I don’t keep a journal. I used to years ago. But I just had to leave a comment saying that I love your handwriting, Danielle. It makes journaling “artistic” and “pretty.” My handwriting is just plain messy.

  2. June 25, 2009 2:06 pm

    Love to journal…haven’t done it in awhile and I miss how it helps me sort out my thoughts. When I am in the routine of journaling, I often write down my prayers and thoughts about what I am reading devotionally. Even a few sentences helps me to remember it enough to reflect on it throughout the day.

    I too love the blank page, the smell, the texture, the way my handwriting varies from day to day…

    You’re a kindred spirit Danielle… :o)

  3. June 26, 2009 6:33 am

    Thanks for sharing! That’s funny you mention my handwriting, Ashleigh. I’ve actually never liked mine too much. But it’s interesting because like Krista said, it various from day to day. I think it’s interesting as to why. I don’t know why, exactly. Maybe it depends on the pen or how I feel that day.

  4. June 26, 2009 10:41 am

    My handwriting changes with the day as well…that is funny!

    LOVE your photos and thoughts here….I’m REALLY bad at keeping a consistant journal. I’ve never been good at it, but I have been trying to be better about keeping a journal for all our boys.

    I do keep a small journal of my daily Bible reading, but your post inspires me to start journaling again, just for the fun of it…

    Thanks!

  5. July 1, 2009 2:30 pm

    I’ve been following Ann’s series on journaling, and that’s how I ended up here. So glad I did! You can find a photo of my journal here: http://jumpingtandem-ne.blogspot.com/2009/06/journaling.html

Leave a Reply

