Skip to content

A Hollow of Silence

June 18, 2009

Thoughts rest your wings

This quote has been sitting on my sidebar and I thought it was time to take it off. But before I let it go, I thought I’d post this little print I did of it. The photograph was one Josh took at my mom’s house some time ago. She loves bird nests and collects them. I discovered the quote in Country Home magazine (if I remember correctly) and fell in love with it. I combined the two and had it printed and framed: one for me, one for my mom. She cried when I gave it to her (I knew she would). Mine’s in my bedroom, the place where I find a “hollow of silence” and a “nest of stillness” at the beginning and end of each day.

Is there a special room or place where you find stillness and quiet each day?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2009 3:30 am

    Just beautiful…

  2. zoanna permalink
    June 19, 2009 9:03 am

    Oh, I love it. It’s a perfect combination of quote and visual. Bravo.

    My place of stillness is the living room sofa where I gravitate every morning with Bible, book, journal, pen, and coffee. It’s one of my favorite “nesting” spots i the house.

  3. June 19, 2009 10:04 am

    Absolutely breathtaking… thank you.
    For being a hollow of silence for me today…

    All’s grace,
    Ann

  4. June 19, 2009 2:58 pm

    The image just makes me happy… It feels so still…

  5. June 19, 2009 5:04 pm

    As odd as this sounds, my place is usually in the car each morning on the way to work. My 45 minute drive is my uninterrupted time with God that sometimes involves music but always involves some period of time that is quiet. Good thing I go to work very, very early and there aren’t many other cars on the road! 🙂

    • June 21, 2009 4:51 pm

      Leanne, that doesn’t sound odd. When I used to commute to work, it was the same for me!

Leave a Reply

