Skip to content

Adequate

June 3, 2009

Do you ever feel inadequate? Inadequate to be a mother? To do the tasks the day requires of you? Inadequate to be a student, accomplishing all the projects assigned to you? Inadequate to be an employee and do a job expected of you?

I’m sure we’ve all felt that way at times. Or everyday.

For me, mothering has highlighted my inadequacy more than anything else. I’m inadequate to be patient, to discipline consistently, or respond lovingly when hearing “Noooo” one more time.

But that’s okay. I really shouldn’t expect it of myself, after all. It’s actually refreshing to discover I don’t have to be adequate all on my own:

“Not that we are adequate in ourselves to consider anything as coming from ourselves, but our adequacy is from God” (2 Cor. 3:5).

In expounding on this passage, Kay Arthur writes, “Our adequacy comes from God and God alone. And when we stop and remember this truth . . . then we’ll have a heart for God. God as our source, our sufficiency, and hence our adequacy. Adequacy for any and every situation.” Feeling inadequate isn’t a bad thing in itself, but only if it drives us to Christ instead of feelings of condemnation or comparison.

I hope this truth encourages you in all the various roles and tasks God has called you to today!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2009 7:20 pm

    wonderful. thanks for sharing.

  2. Annie permalink
    June 4, 2009 9:40 am

    Inadequate? My goodness, when I think of all you do! And how beautifully and gracefully you seem to perform everyday… I feel inadequate! Your family is thriving, you put things of worth and lovliness into the world. What could be better? 🙂

  3. June 4, 2009 3:10 pm

    I am encouraged. Thanks for posting. I feel inadequate every day. And, the truth is I AM inadequate for the task God’s called me to, but HE is not, and I’m grateful HE is my sufficiency. Keeping that in mind as I haul my kids to the library this afternoon and the dr. later this evening.

  4. anne permalink
    June 4, 2009 9:52 pm

    Such a WONDERFUL reminder.
    If we could remember these things, remember that God is pefect, his grace is sufficient…
    AMEN!
    Thanks for the encouragement today! Always needed 🙂

  5. June 9, 2009 10:21 am

    Thanks for this timely reminder, Danielle!

Leave a Reply

