Skip to content

Meeting Mr. Toad

May 22, 2009

What are little boys made of?

Frogs and snails

And puppy-dogs’ tails,

That’s what little boys are made of.

DSC_0246

I remember being a little older than the boys and seeing quite regularly a little toad that would come out of our rain spout. I dubbed him “Teddy the Toad.”

Now my boys have discovered toads.

We’ve found several toads out in the yard these lovely evenings and Owen, in particular, is interested in holding Mr. Toad. Duncan likes to look– almost touches–but usually ends up not touching in the end. Josh got these pictures about a week ago:

Not too sure . . .

A gentle touch

DSC_0253

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 22, 2009 1:37 pm

    Sweet. I don’t think my boys would even hold a toad now. They need some serious “toughening up” or a bit more “country” in them. Has Owen given the toad any kisses yet?

  2. Josh permalink
    May 22, 2009 2:54 pm

    No kisses on the toad yet, but he tried to eat a worm last week but I got it out of his mouth…sadly the worm was ripped in two before I got there though…

  3. May 22, 2009 3:13 pm

    About the worm – blech!!
    You must tell me what camera you use – your photos are always so beautiful and bright!

    • May 22, 2009 3:30 pm

      We bought a Nikon D40 for Christmas the year before the boys were born. It’s a digital SLR. I love it and am still learning how to use all the settings. “Understanding Exposure” is a great book (the library has it) to jump start learning how to take good pictures. I’d taken photography in college but that was with film and I’d gotten lazy and was only taking photos in auto mode until I had the boys. Then I went crazy trying to remember and learn how to get better control of what I was doing. It’s been so fun!

  4. May 22, 2009 4:52 pm

    Love the pictures! your boys are so cute. I can remember playing with the wee frogs and tadpoles etc in the stream at the bottom of my parents property when I was wee. Thank you for the very pleasant flashback! 😉

  5. May 23, 2009 10:49 am

    These are so great!!! Love them Danielle….your images and the cute boys.

    Adelee would totally hang with them. She came to me the other day dangling a worm…(not from her mouth that is gross I would have died) but she was carrying it across the yard yelling Mom bug Mom bug. Sadly the worm didn’t survive her hands either.

  6. May 25, 2009 6:16 pm

    So cute…my girlie would be right there with them in the dirt!

  7. May 26, 2009 3:31 pm

    Awh… so cute!

Leave a Reply

