Skip to content

Lime Cake

May 10, 2009

DSC_0218

Happy Mother’s Day to all you mothers out there! We had a lovely Sunday afternoon celebrating with both our moms and our siblings. It was a beautiful day to relax and enjoy our family’s company.

We had a citrus theme with drinks, Pampered Chef’s Lemon Gingertini’s, and dessert, Lemony Angel Food Cake and Lime Cake. I made the Lime Cake and it ended up to be quite delicious, especially if you like cream cheese frosting. I got the recipe from my California friend, Jessica, and the notes are hers.

Yield: 10-12 servings
Cooking Time: 20-30 min
Temperature: 350

CAKE

1 box of lemon cake mix
½ cup water
½ cup key lime juice
[OR you could use orange juice as I did in my original recipe]
One 3 ounce pkg lime jello
½ cup canola oil
4 large eggs slightly beaten

Mix all these ingredients together with a mixer.

Spray 2 round 8 inch baking pans with Pam or grease/flour lightly.  Bake at 350 for 20-35 min or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.  Cool completely before frosting.

FROSTING

¼ LB softened butter
1 8oz package cream cheese, also softened
4 cups powdered sugar
1-2 TBSP key lime juice

(note that if it’s too sour for you, you could always thin out the frosting with milk)

Zest of a few key limes if you like zest.

Beat all ingredients together until spreadable.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 11, 2009 7:37 am

    oooh – I love lime! this looks fabulous!

  2. May 11, 2009 8:23 am

    Thanks for sharing the recipe. This looks and sounds absolutely delicious. I will have to try this one.

  3. Jodie permalink
    May 11, 2009 5:53 pm

    Pardon me while I salivate! I love citrusy cakes. I’ll have to try that recipe!

  4. May 12, 2009 5:26 pm

    That sounds like a delightful menu. And, I know how good those gingertinis are. They are going to become a staple drink for hospitality from now on in the summer. I love that you can make them w/ or w/out alcohol. Your cake looks scrumptious.

    • May 12, 2009 5:53 pm

      My Gingertinis didn’t turn out quite as good as yours did, Briana. Not sure why. My ginger had been previously frozen and I had to use Lime sorbet instead of Lemon. Maybe that was the reason.

  5. October 15, 2009 3:25 pm

    I bet this is really refreshing!

Trackbacks

  1. Downsizing Your Baked Goods (Ultimate Recipe Swap: Baked Goods) — Life As Mom

Leave a Reply

