Skip to content

The Blue Castle

April 26, 2009

I’ve read just about every L. M. Montgomery book out there, but I’d never read The Blue Castle. Partly because I’d never found it in a library or bookstore. After reading A Library is a hospital for the mind’s review, I decided I really needed to purchase the book. I got it right in time for my trip to San Francisco and read the entire book while traveling the friendly skies.

The Blue Castle has all the qualities we Montgomery fans love: beautiful descriptions, a heroine to cheer for, and a plot that has fairy tale qualities. This was Montgomery’s only novel written for an adult audience, and as such, it deals with adult themes more than some of her other books. She deals with alcoholism and illegitimacy, but with taste and compassion. By today’s standards, her book may not be considered gritty enough. However, this book was written in 1926 and reflects that.

The story follows Valancy, a 29-year-old “spinster”, who discovers unexpected and startling news that influences her to make dramatic changes in her life. These changes shock her overbearing family and begin a chain a events that will transform her life forever.

This novel is a must for all L. M. Montgomery fans. It’s a charming, engaging, and a fast read. A perfect novel for summer reading.

What novels have you read recently that you’d recommend?

(Image: http://www.amazon.com)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2009 8:23 pm

    ooh, thanks. i was looking for my next fiction. i’ll have to see if my library has it.

  2. April 27, 2009 8:57 am

    Oh! I’m glad you had a chance to read it. I just returned from CA, but no chance to read either on the way there or back. I had a toddler on my lap.

  3. Annie permalink
    April 30, 2009 9:17 am

    I just blew through “Home” (the “Gilead” sequel) and “Suite Francaise”. Both amazing reads.

Trackbacks

  1. What I read in 2009 « Dancing by the Light

Leave a Reply

