Skip to content

The Beatrix Potter Collection DVDs

April 21, 2009

For Easter, my mom bought Duncan and Owen The Beatrix Potter Collection DVDs, created by BBC. My youngest sister, Judith, had the VHS versions when we were younger, so I’d seen them before and was delighted for my boy to receive them. They are so charming!

Each episode opens with a “real life” scene of Beatrix Potter going about her life and eventually sitting down to write a story to one of the children that she corresponds to, and then the animated tale begins. Somehow, the animators have essentially recreated Potter’s watercolors for animation. They are very well done and not cartoonish at all. They look like moving watercolors. I absolutely  love it! Each episode is 30 minutes and contains two stories. It closes by returning to Beatrix Potter in her cottage finishing the letter and going to mail it, with a beautiful song, “Perfect Day” being sung by Miriam Stockley, the lead singer of Adiemus.

I highly recommend these DVDs to lovers of the Beatrix Potter tales.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 21, 2009 2:03 pm

    We ended up with a couple of those somehow. I think my mom found them at a secondhand shop. A&S liked them very much, and I, too, was impressed at how they looked like Potter’s illustrations in animation.

    — SJ

  2. Ashleigh permalink
    April 21, 2009 3:24 pm

    I saw these at Costco and was wondering what they were like! Thanks for the review.

  3. April 21, 2009 4:16 pm

    We have these! I bought them for Pip, but she’s too young to appreciate them yet! So I turn them on when I want a soothing soundtrack during naptime… 😉

  4. April 21, 2009 4:44 pm

    This sounds so sweet! I bet my kids would love them! We actually went to the area that Beatrix Potter lived in England. We could have gone to her cottage, but we never made it out there. Maybe on our next visit to the Lake District!

  5. April 22, 2009 5:55 am

    Kelly, once Piper is older I bet she’ll love them! My boys are riveted, but they’re also really into rabbits right now, which could be part of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

