Skip to content

Off-Stage Worship

April 13, 2009

“I wish I could go with you,” I said wistfully, kissing my husband goodbye one evening as he headed to our church’s music rehearsal, remembering the times before kids that we’d gone together. I also recalled the Sunday mornings when we’d stop for coffee before arriving early at church to rehearse prior to the service. Remembered the delight of being with other believers on the music team, the joy of looking out and seeing other enthusiastic worshippers in the congregation, and the joy of serving together.

I missed it. Missed serving the Lord with my husband.

Now I stay home on music rehearsal nights putting our twin toddlers to bed. Alone. Typically three Sunday mornings a month I wrestle the boys into their car seats and head off to church. Alone.

Continue to read more . . .

Is there an activity or area of ministry that you once held dear that you’ve had to lay aside for some reason? What have you learned through the process?

(Image: ungrind.com)

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Corrie permalink
    April 13, 2009 10:44 pm

    Hey Danielle,
    This is Corrie formerly McKee Taylor… I used to attend Chesapeake with my family before i moved away. Anyways, I saw Josh’s link to your post about off stage worship and REALLY enjoyed reading what the Lord showed you. It’s comforting to know that other momma’s feel the same at times. God hasn’t called me away from the worship team but as a mother of two in two years and another on the way I have had my hands full. I miss doing things with God like taking walks in the evening and playing piano in worship that used to be a large party of my communion with Him. It’s been difficult to find new niches and our relationship has suffered from the lack… Truthfully, I haven’t sought it like I used to and He is graciously calling me back into depth and is helping me find new ways of sitting with Him. He is so faithful! Thanks for article… It was good food for thought.

  2. melodyejoy permalink
    April 14, 2009 11:27 am

    Danielle, I’ve come full-circle πŸ™‚ I remember struggling with the pride issue when I stepped back as Amanda started to really sing. I was her support system, then I was other’s support. Last year, at 48, I finally got to sing again! What a joy it has been for me! I have to constantly ask for a servant’s heart because I really AM a diva. I am sure you will be able to serve in that area again… but for now, you indeed must pray for contentment! Melodye

  3. April 14, 2009 11:38 am

    great article, Danielle.

  4. April 14, 2009 11:57 am

    Corrie, of course I remember you!! Thank you for sharing your struggles in this season too!

    Melodye, thank you for your encouragement and the exhortation! It means much coming from someone like you.

  5. bethyoung permalink
    April 14, 2009 12:53 pm

    loved the article. πŸ™‚

  6. Laura permalink
    April 14, 2009 1:29 pm

    Danielle,
    I read your blog through my sister, Beth’s blog. I really liked this article! I can related…somewhat. My husband has always been on the worship team at our church and now plays softball 2 nights a week, leads our young adults group and has worship practice and church on Sunday mornings and Wednesday nights. I really struggle with “sharing” him and being jealous of his time away from home. I never realized that once I had our daughter, Annabelle, that I’d be so jealous of him having time away. Thanks for sharing your feelings and struggles. It makes me really put my attitude in check!

  7. April 14, 2009 2:22 pm

    Thanks for sharing vulnerably what God has done and is doing in your heart and life. This is likely a very common temptation for young moms especially. I know it is for me…to serve in “secret”. I can identify w/ your feelings of being forgotten, set aside, passed over…to collect dust. HA! πŸ™‚ I am so grateful, though, to be gently reminded by the Holy Spirit, my husband and other women around me that the ministry in my home is of utmost importance, worth my best effort and most fervent prayers.

  8. zoanna permalink
    April 14, 2009 4:49 pm

    Good article. I’m so glad you didn’t put a pretty bow on it as if it’s no longer a struggle. I think whenever we go from a public to a private ministry, there’s a “does anyone notice? does anyone care?” question –and really, underneath, “does anyone VALUE what I’m doing?” When we do well in a public gift the kudoes come more readily (unless we screw up,then the blame comes pretty fast, too!). I daresay anyone who says they don’t want to be in the spotlight really secretly does. Take the spotlight away and put them at home caring for someone for months or years and you bet they’d rather be seen for their serving. Some are more humble outwardly, but even those often praised publicly for serving “behind the scenes” really aren’t so “behind the scenes.” Off-stage, as you say. I know because I’ve had plenty of both on and off-stage ministries, and I can say that being at home with toddlers was THE hardest ministry I’ve ever known because the accolades didn’t come often enough from people to make me feel it was valued, and I wasn’t often reminded that it mattered to God, either. So it sure convicts me to read about the struggle private-ministry people (moms or not) are going through and remind me to RESTATE that GOD SEES. Jehovajirah–God sees (and provides for what he sees).

  9. April 16, 2009 2:28 pm

    Thank you, everyone, for sharing. Laura, I met you briefly at the Ladies’ Breakfast around Christmas time, I believe. Zoanna, thanks for sharing as now you’re on “the other side” of toddlerhood and thanks for your example to thank “private-ministry” people no matter who they are.

Leave a Reply

