Skip to content

Passion Hymns for a Kid’s Heart

April 10, 2009

dsc_0013

I’ve been thinking about creative ways to make hymn teaching part of everyday life as my boys get older. This thought had been simmering in the back of my mind, so imagine my delight to hear this very topic up for discussion over at Revive Our Hearts last week. The first broadcast was on The Value of Hymns and the second on Teaching Hymns. I found the practical examples about weaving hymns into everyday life very inspiring!

At the end of the broadcast they advertised the book Passion Hymns for a Kid’s Heart, one of four books on hymns for young kids. I decided I had to get it.

This past week Josh and I went to Sovereign Grace Ministires’ Pastors Conference as guests with our pastoral team (Josh helps head up the worship ministry for our church). Upon going to the bookstore I immediately spotted Passion Hymns for a Kid’s Heart and bought it. It’s a book with lovely illustrations, devotions to accompany the hymn, simple sheet music of the highlighted hymn, plus a verse and prayer that go with each song. There’s also a CD of music with all the hymns from the book for kids to listen to. In the back there’s even a glossary of words kids might not know (or some adults either, for that matter) such as “laud” and “potentate”.

I’m really excited to use this with my kids and had to pass it on.

dsc_0015

4 Comments leave one →
  1. zoanna permalink
    April 10, 2009 1:25 pm

    Ooh, thank you! I loved teaching hymnicity to my children. Starting young is the key, as they memorize so quickly. I had a book that included a meaningful craft to go with each one, (I’m not one for meaningLESS crafts which often make for busywork that ends up in the trash.) I don’t recall the title, but will go digging if you’re interested. Your guys would be too young for it now, but by kindergarten they would. Bravo to you. There’s nothing I like more than a Sunday morning service half-filled with hymns!

    My grandma used to quip, “I love the old hymns. So much of the Bible is based on them!”

  2. April 10, 2009 2:20 pm

    Like the quote from your grandma . . . 🙂

  3. April 10, 2009 3:04 pm

    It was great meeting you at the conference. I thought I’d finally leave a comment since I have been stalking for …well years now 🙂 Oh yeah…Wives and Daughters is one of my favorites, too! God Bless…Shannon Eder

  4. April 13, 2009 8:20 pm

    Just wanted to drop in and say I read your Ungrind article for this week – I can really relate. I’ve often wondered if God will ever open that door again for me…

Leave a Reply

