Skip to content

Enough

April 1, 2009

dsc_0202

How much is enough? The fact is I always want more. I go in and out of seasons of contentment vs. discontentment. Right now I’ve realized that I’ve been going through a season of discontentment. I’ve gotten caught up in materialism. That’s usually where I find myself discontent. I realized this when I came home from a shopping excursion–where I got some really good deals–but found myself obsessing about other items I’d seen and still wanted to buy. That’s the danger of stores like T. J. Maxx! Many things are reasonably priced, but if I’d purchased everything I wanted, I’d have had too big of a bill for our budget!

There’s much I desire. More books, music, clothes, camera lenses, restaurants to try, and so forth. And the more I get the more I want. I know it’s not satisfying. The other side of myself longs to be content in simple daily living, happy with what I have. And that’s just about material things.

Then there’s life circumstances. God’s shown me in recent years that He is all I need. No matter what painful trial I have faced or will face, I want God to be enough. It’s my deep longing that goes beyond all other longings. I know it’s true. I know it’s God-given. I know that God’s been building in me for the past several years an intense desire to find “enough” in Him alone. But I don’t always live that way.

No matter how much I gain or how much is stripped away, I want to be able to not only say, but truly live in a way that He is enough. I want to be able to say:

All of You is more than enough for all of me
For every thirst and every need
You satisfy me with Your love
And all I have in You is more than enough

-Chris Tomlin

I feel like God has been beating this concept into my head. As I was reading Lord, Give Me a Heart for You by Kay Arthur for a Bible study I’m in, I was reminded that, “You are a vessel made to contain God, and until you contain Him, you’ll never find fulfillment, satisfaction. For none can satisfy except God.” That’s not just true for salvation, but every day after, so I’ve found. I have to constantly be reminded.

I’m glad that one day, however, I will be truly satisfied. The struggle to make God enough will finally be no more, it will be a reality. “There will be a day when we will be satisfied. There will be a time when what God has given us will be enough. There will be a moment when we will all be so satiated by the presence and glory of the Lord that we will finally be free from the desire for more. May each day be a step toward satisfaction. . . . May we say with joy and integrity of heart, ‘He is enough.'” (Paul David Tripp Whiter Than Snow: Meditations on Sin and Mercy).

So that’s my prayer for now: that each day will be a step toward satisfaction in God alone.

(Note: The photo is my first attempt at faking a TTV shot in Photoshop, thanks to Kelly for getting me obsessed with it.)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2009 6:22 am

    Thanks for this encouragement. I have found during this transition that an unexpected experience is the need for “just one more”. For me it was food, websites, times of comfort and ease, and of course clothing 🙂 . God has been so gracious to reveal the value, the protection, the safety of self control, but a huge part of this has been that He is sufficient. I can have self control over the urge for just one more because He is enough – actually, He is what I am craving in the first place.

  2. April 2, 2009 7:56 am

    Lovely. And lovely picture. The Tomlin song has always rung true with me, too. Too many times I’m praying, “Lord, if only…” instead of “Only you, Lord”. Thanks!

  3. zoanna permalink
    April 2, 2009 8:32 am

    I’ve had the same cravings and more and more expensive or out-of-reach. New kitchen, more travel, personal and friend retreats,
    sports car of my own, and then lots of little stuff.

    I find self-control only goes so far and then I feel I need to reward myself for being so “good.” The reality is, if I ‘m satisfied in Christ alone, He is my reward, He is my joy, the best, and all these other things pale.

  4. April 2, 2009 8:53 am

    Thanks for this, Danielle. The fight between “more” and “enough” is ever an uphill battle, but praise God that He equips us to fight in His strength. It also reminds me that it’s His grace that shows us there is something to fight against, rather than swimming along on the tide of ever more stuff.

  5. melodyejoy permalink
    April 2, 2009 4:21 pm

    Danielle, I blogged about my experience with “financial fasting” today 🙂 then I read your blog! When I think of the money I’ve wasted over the last 30 years,… well, I don’t like to think about it!

  6. April 2, 2009 6:46 pm

    As for me, I will see Your face in righteousness; I shall be satisfied when I awake in Your likeness. Ps. 17:15

    You found a lovely texture for that shot! So gorgeous! Where did you get it?

  7. April 2, 2009 8:23 pm

    I found the TTV frame here and used a Pioneer Woman Action Set 2 (Seventies, I think) on the photo. However, that kind of smudge is SOOC because I was shooting though a window.

  8. April 3, 2009 9:15 am

    it’s nice – I have to ask you about using Actions in Photoshop – I’ve downloaded a few, but I don’t have a clue how to make them do what they’re supposed to do…

  9. April 3, 2009 2:56 pm

    Kelly, usually you just open your photo in Photoshop and then in the “Actions” palette you select/highlight the one you want to use and then click “play selection” at the very bottom of the palette (a couple of buttons to the left of “trash”). You can also create your own, which is fun. I’ve never done anything fancy, but for work flow I’ve created a few for cleaning up a photo and the like.

  10. April 3, 2009 3:06 pm

    Great shot. You still have that contentment book? That was so good for me…I keep reading it. HEE HEE.

    I love the TTV. There is an artist on Etsy that does the real ones that I really like. So fun.

Leave a Reply

