Skip to content

Sunrise in the Sky

March 25, 2009

I love that moment when the plane leaves land. The way my stomach always lurches with excitement at taking flight. The feeling of climbing higher and higher as the ground swiftly recedes. It’s always a moment of exhilaration and wonder.

From the sky, earth only looks beautiful. The ugliness of trash or decaying buildings is washed away by the green stretches of land and blue bodies of water. The lights that represent homes twinkle in the darkness. I’m amazed at the mass of humanity the homes, cars, buildings represent. To think of all the happiness and pain that goes on in people’s lives I don’t know who are below me in those cars and homes. Makes me think of the lines of the Sara Groves song, “who can know the pain the joy the regret the satisfaction / who can know the love of one life, one heart, one soul . . .” But to think that God knows.

The darkness of the morning slowly melts into a rosy golden glow. I look towards the east. The sun is beginning to rise. It’s light starts pouring into the sky, expanding, swelling. It’s amazing to watch the sun rise in the sky. I long to capture this moment. The beauty and wonder. It is a moment I know I’m loved.

For as high as the heavens are above the earth,
so great is his love for those who fear him;

as far as the east is from the west,
so far has he removed our transgressions from us.

As a father has compassion on his children,
so the LORD has compassion on those who fear him. (Ps. 103: 11-13)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2009 4:29 pm

    Beautifully written. I had never thought about so far up that one cannot see trash or decaying bldgs.

    So, are you in SF now?

  2. March 25, 2009 4:41 pm

    No, I came back on Monday.

  3. March 26, 2009 6:52 am

    Beautifully put. Seeing the sun climb the horizon is a wonderful thing.

  4. Anne & Justin permalink
    March 26, 2009 10:22 am

    amen…and thatis my fav. part of flying too. 🙂

  5. March 26, 2009 10:36 am

    Beautiful words

Leave a Reply

